Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Upgrade dilema

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by simon3000gt, Nov 9, 2014.

  1. simon3000gt

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    I currently have a phantom 2 with a 2D gimbal, so was thinking of re shelling, as I have a couple of cracks under one of the motors, and upgrading the Gimbal at the same time

    So I believe I would also need to update the legs? , or is that only if you use the square hole shell?

    How with the new ESC, motors, compass and props, should I just purchase a new Phantom 2.2

    What are other thoughts and would a new phantom be cheaper / better

    4 x Motors @£19
    4 x ESC @£16
    2 x Props @£11
    1 Shell @ £46

    I end up with a extra charger, Battery , 4 new props , and still have a spare phantom 2.0

    SImon
     
  2. goldfishrock

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2014
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Devon, UK
  3. Bluegrass

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you were really going to replace all the things you listed plus a new 3d gimbal, I would purchase a new Phantom that has the new items you listed. You'd wind up having a spare Phantom that is probably perfectly usable.
     
  4. simon3000gt

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    @goldfishrock was just thinking of the new versions of the motor , props and esc , and the eclaims that DJI are making, flying better etc

    Simon
     
  5. OBX Kevin

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Annandale, Virginia
    I saw a couple of upgrade kits on vendor websites that have most of the stuff in your list as well as the new RC (thumb wheel x1 and lipo battery) for $292 (USD). I'm in the same boat that you are as I have the Phantom 2 w/Zenmuse H3-2D. I'll probably save some additional money and go with the new bird so that my wife can fly too.

    One of my concerns is that the Phantom 2 v1 uses 2.4Ghz for its operating frequency. I believe the Phantom 2 V2 uses 5.8Ghz. I have a AVL58 (5.8Ghz) which I've added to my Phantom 2 V1 for FPV. I believe this would interfere with the Phantom 2 V2 if I put it on that platform. I'm still a newbie so I'm also looking for answers before laying out the money. I believe that they make the Phantom 2 V2 RC in both frequencies.

    Here is a link to a kit I found:
    http://www.dronecamps.com/#!product/prd ... k-w-remote
     
  6. lake_flyer

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2014
    Messages:
    603
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    The Low Lands
    The Phantom 2 in the newest (second) version still is on 2.4GHz only. It's easy to mess it up with a Phantom V2+ which stands for Vision 2+ which is on 5.8.
    So yes, on the latest Phantom2 (Not on a Vision2+) you can still use your 5.8 AVL58.
     
  7. OBX Kevin

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Annandale, Virginia
    Thanks for that clarification.
     
  8. 750r

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    1,226
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Pa, USA
    The past 3 P2 shells I got have all been the newer version (3D hole) .