P3 Firmware Updraging....Do I Do It....Opinions Please

Reaction score
First of all, I am new to flying the P3A, I just purchased a slightly used unit about 3 weeks ago and only had 1 opportunity to fly it, which was about 15 mins in total. Due to weather conditions, I have not been able to pull it out of my backpack.

I hold a Fixed Wing license with Float Endorsement of which I have about 600 hrs total time. I also have about 40hrs in Helicopters, but never got to finish my rating.

When I received my P3A, it had Firmware 1.6.40 installed and the RC had 1.5.70 which I did upgrade to 1.5.80 a few weeks ago. My DJI Go app version is 2.7.1, and just recently purchased LITCHI ver 3.2.1.

So my noob questions are:

1. Do I go ahead and upgrade to Ver 1.8.80 along with the corresponding DJI GO App and RC?
2. Is there a step ladder approach to firmware upgrading, ie go up a level first, then continue to the current level
of firmware.

Since I only have 1 flight under my belt, I am a little apprehensive on doing these upgrades, so I am looking towards the valued opinions of the members here.

What do you all think?

PDR

First of all, I am new to flying the P3A, I just purchased a slightly used unit about 3 weeks ago and only had 1 opportunity to fly it, which was about 15 mins in total. Due to weather conditions, I have not been able to pull it out of my backpack.

I hold a Fixed Wing license with Float Endorsement of which I have about 600 hrs total time. I also have about 40hrs in Helicopters, but never got to finish my rating.

When I received my P3A, it had Firmware 1.6.40 installed and the RC had 1.5.70 which I did upgrade to 1.5.80 a few weeks ago. My DJI Go app version is 2.7.1, and just recently purchased LITCHI ver 3.2.1.

So my noob questions are:

1. Do I go ahead and upgrade to Ver 1.8.80 along with the corresponding DJI GO App and RC?
2. Is there a step ladder approach to firmware upgrading, ie go up a level first, then continue to the current level