Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Updating

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Turbazz, Mar 2, 2015.

  1. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    Is there any way of updating your IOSD mini and 2.4ghz data link through your phantom? The reason I ask is because both of these units are inside my Phantom, The shop i brought it from installed it for me. How crucial is it to update it... :roll:
     
  2. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    I don't know about iOSD b/c I don't have one but I'm pretty sure it's the same as Data Link. They are all connected via CANBUS and they should all show up on the firmware update page in Naza Assistant. Are they missing from that page?
     
  3. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    I can't see IOSD anywhere. Unless its named to something else..,?
     
  4. landmannnn

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2015
    Messages:
    350
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Coventry and Limoges
    There is a micro usb socket on the iosd. So you would need to open the phantom up if you think there is a need to upgrade the firmware.
     
  5. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.

    Yeh I was just thinking that reading the manual for it. It requires is own assistant software also is that correct? Is there no way it can go through the USB socket on the Phantom..
     
  6. capodrone81

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    860
    you have to download iosdmini assistant through dji website, open program connect directly to iosdmini NOT through dji phantom shell. Check for updates...
     
  7. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    Thanks guys. What do you mean by shell check
     
  8. MrC

    MrC

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2014
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    Surrey. UK
    Put a full stop after shell..

    As to your question. No you cant do it through the phantom. The iosd mini needs the iosd assistant - http://download.dji-innovations.com/dow ... er_4.0.exe and you have to connect to the usb port on iosd mini.
    If you bought it recently it may well already be updated. You can tell when you look at your fpv screen, if you have battery voltage AND battery percentage then its on the latest firmware already. If just voltage and no % then it needs updating.

    Not sure about the datalink, doesnt it get updated by connecting it to the ground part of the datalink in turn connected to pc and running the datalink software?
     
  9. capodrone81

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    860

    fixed see original post. was in a hurry typing.. lol :lol:
     
  10. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    Okay I opened the Phantom up and checked everything. Every think is up-to-date. Just one weird thing in the Phantom assistant,next to some of the harder it says no updates. And next to other hardware it says latest firmware with a tick.

    I don't know if that makes sense to you if your says the same
     
  11. capodrone81

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2014
    Messages:
    362
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    860
    sounds very normal.. your good to go! :!: