Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

updating firmware, what goes first?

Discussion in 'Firmware' started by chapsrlz, Aug 2, 2014.

  1. chapsrlz

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2014
    Messages:
    534
    Likes Received:
    87
    Location:
    cdmx
    hi.
    as many of you know my phantom is about to get home (i was expecting it today, guess ill have to wait until next moday :( ) and in the mean time i've reading again the manual, watching videos, downloaded the dji software and noticed that many of you are having problems when updating the firmware, so my questions is simple, what to update first?

    phantom / controller
    or
    controller / phantom

    thanks!
     
  2. paddypaws

    Joined:
    May 19, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think it matters really, just as long as you do both in the one sitting.
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    +1 And calibrate both after you're finished (Controller in the RC assistant, and sticks in the Phantom assistant)
     
  4. Fyod

    Joined:
    May 21, 2014
    Messages:
    684
    Likes Received:
    61
    Location:
    Central EU
    When I last plugged my copter in and opened PT2, all of a sudden a window popped up and something updated, then the window went away and said to restart the copter, then the gimbal went bezerk. What was this? I didn't update anything, just plugged it in and didn't click on anything. It was so fast I didn't have time to read what was going on. Gimbal was fine after restart.
     
  5. drlodi

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I had a problem using the .....phantom / controller ..... method. The motors would not spin up after the upgrade.
    I ended up redoing everything by re-upgrading the controller first, calibrated sticks, then re-upgraded the phantom, then calibrating the sticks and doing an advanced IMU.
    Everything worked flawlessly after that. I don't know if it was the order or if it was just redoing it that made it work, but I'm feeling much less stressed today than yesterday :D
    Also, the J-hook has disappeared. Thanks, Ian