Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Updating firmware for DJI Advance

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Mityone, Dec 27, 2015.

  1. Mityone

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    125
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    I am upgrading to a DJI Advance and I am seeing that updating it requires the sd card to be connected to your computer... I don't see the adapter that holds the card. Do, I need to buy that?..
     
  2. FotoGeek

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    52
    It does not come with microSD to SD adaptor, so yes, you will need to buy one.
     
  3. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,551
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Cheaper to buy a micro SD card that comes with one. Or you can buy an SD card _reader_ that also accepts a micro SD card.
     
  4. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
  5. Skypicswa

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Western Australia
    That's the puppy right there, excellent buy
     
  6. Solar Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Isn't it possible to hook up the camera with the included cable to a computer and place the file on the card?

    SD
     
  7. DMac

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2015
    Messages:
    118
    Likes Received:
    15
    I think I'm a little lost.

    I have the Phantom 3 Advanced. I have placed the firmware 1.6.0040 (or whatever it is… it's definitely the latest one) on to my SD card. When installing it on to the camera gimbal, it boots up normally. The LED on the front portion of the gimbal is remains solid green. I have formatted the SD card and replaced the firmware .bin file onto it, and the same thing occurs.

    Any advice for me?

    Thanks to everyone.
     
  8. Eddiehu

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    Hi, you need to extract the file before you put it on the SD card on your P3. I hooked up the micro usb cable (which is included, while SD card is in drone) from the P3 to my macbook. Once the extracted file was added to the root directory on the SD card, I unhooked my usb cord and rebooted the drone.

    It took a few times before I got it to work for me. The small circle LED on the gimbal starts flashing red and makes some sounds, took about 15-20 minutes to complete.
     
  9. theSchwartz75

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2015
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    7
    Also, make sure you format the card with the DJI Go app. Don't format it with the computer and then try to update.
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
    Yes. It's just more convenient to use a memory card reader. Even more so when you have multiple memory cards to pull data from.
     
  11. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,096
    Likes Received:
    5,623
    Location:
    US
  12. Solar Deity

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2015
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    144
    Location:
    Upstate NY
    Mike,

    Thanks for all the great information you have put together for all of us. I've used your site many times.

    I was just saying if the Mityone didn't want to wait to grab a micro SD card with adapter, he could perform his FW update with the included USB cord. Everyone should have a couple SD cards on hand anyway. Too many great shots out there to miss.

    SD