Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Update Battery

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by leekiya, Jun 1, 2015.

  1. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Has anyone tried putting 1.1.9 back onto the memory card to update the new battery yet.
     
  2. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,552
    Likes Received:
    1,396
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    The release notes don't mention anything about a battery update. It does specifically mention what the firmware does update.
     
  3. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    I tried to update my new battery with the 1.1.9 firmware but it did not need updating, must of had the latest firmware from the factory.
     
  4. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Yea the firmware updates the battery as well, drone camps on youtube suggested doing another firmware when we got our new battery's, so i was wondering how many were going to bother and if any of the 3 firmwares would have updated batterys or not yet.
     
  5. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Cool, i was wondering if the success report would say or not if it had updated the new batterys, im not sure even if the battery did update it would say in the success report tho.
     
  6. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    I also tried to update the new battery with the 1.1.8 firmware just in case the update was there but again it said the usual "identical or older firmware already installed".
     
  7. nirvine88

    Joined:
    May 12, 2015
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    30
    Do we have to update every new battery we buy?
     
  8. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Yea probably don't need to then, might do it anyway just in case.
     
  9. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    No but this is why it's smart to just leave the upgrade bin on the sd card for the carft. Then IF the battery requires an update it will do it automatically.
     
  10. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Cool, cheers blade ;)
     
  11. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    If the bin file is left on the card and you do a reformat from the app, will it not erase the bin file and it would have to be transferred back to the SD card after a app reformat?

    Thanks!
     
  12. AHill

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2013
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    23
    Yes, if you reformat. I just erase the video and pictures when I transfer them to the computer so in that case the bin file would stay on the SD card.
     
  13. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Exactly what I do and suggest others to do.
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  14. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    :)Thanks! will start doing that
     
  15. UKFlyer

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Midlands, UK
    Why do some keep the firmware on the sd card? Once all your batteries, tx and quad are updated there is no need to keep it on there, i just keep a copy on my pc.
     
  16. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Read blade strike information above-- he is a Support and Tester Rep for DJI-- If he says it is best to leave it on, then I think I would chose to leave it on.
    Cheers!:)
     
  17. dysan911

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2015
    Messages:
    298
    Likes Received:
    60
    Wow I use a separate Micro SD card for my FW updates. So no .bin file on the card I save video/pics too.
    I do save the last .BIN on the that other Card though.
     
  18. 2k3sgm

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2015
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    34
    I was doing this also, but then I ran into "SD card full" and recording stopped. When I pulled the card it only had 3 videos on it, including the one I was shooting. I came the the conclusion that the deleting of the files is ok for the computer, but the P3 still sees that space on the card as occupied. Anyone else have this happen?