Unsure of which to buy

Reaction score
Apologies for the long post as I am completely new to drones! Recently, my son received a small inexpensive model for Christmas. Unfortunately, right out of the box, 2 of the motors were faulty so we returned it. It got me to thinking that it might be worth it to just step up and buy a good quality model that we can both learn to enjoy. My first thought after some research was the P3S because it seems to be at a great price right now, but in reading in various places the last couple of days, I'm not sure now. The first thing that stopped me were the firmware issues that I kept reading about. I have this terrible fear that it will wind up as either a brick or with a severely limited range.Then in doing some more research, I've found that other models of the 3 and now the 4 have more range, object avoidance, and do not need wifi, the latter of which I can see as being a real problem with the 3S if you are in a field away from a good wifi signal. The 4P looks to be the cream of the crop, but at $1500, that's just not going to happen right now. I guess my question is, am I worrying about nothing, and should I just save a little more and go for the 3A or 3P? All that aside, I've been watching tutorials and have read the manual as well as posts on here for 2-3 days and I feel much more comfortable now than when I started!

Phantom 3 standard has built in wifi - will work anywhere....you connect to the unit itself. I fly mine way out in the country.

Phantom 3 standard has built in wifi - will work anywhere....you connect to the unit itself. I fly mine way out in the country.

Lol, after reading your response, I realized I knew that but was somehow thinking of my phone for the app which doesn't need it at that point.

Is there any advantage to buying from DJI vs someplace like Amazon?