Understanding NAZA... with a question...

Reaction score
I'm new with this but wondering if there's any downside to going into NAZA mode as long as I leave the S1 & S2 switches in their upright positions? Is that the same thing as using the Vision mode?

It seems like it would be useful (and helpful) to use the Home or Course lock sometimes with the flick of a switch... so I'm tempted to go into NAZA mode to have that option. But does it offer any other disadvantage or advantage? Why is it considered another "mode" as opposed to have just a check box for allowing the IOC (home / course lock)?

Is NAZA a different computer chip than the Vision mode? If so, is it faster or better in anyway?

Just trying to understand... thanks for any feedback.

Having flown it today I can confirm that with all switches up you won't notice a difference compared to Vision standard GPS mode. What has proven useful to me is the ability to flick between GPS and attitude mode. Attitude mode is a lot smoother for filming, providing you are happy with, and keep an eye on, wind drift.

I let it drift with the wind in atti mode for a smooth tracking shot, then with a quick flick up on S1 she held station perfectly. I didn't change any parameters, just changed into NAZA mode with the Assistant and she flew very nicely. See the Personal Videos thread for my video and I did a write up of the flight in a separate thread.

thanks for both replies. But i'm trying to understand if this uses a different computer chip? Or is it just a simple "mode"? For example... why didn't they just have a checkbox to turn the S1 & S2 switches on / off instead of calling it another "MODE"? what am i missing?