Understanding Battery Temps...

Reaction score
Hello Guys...

Just wanted to enquire what battery temps are generally accepted to start a safe flight? 10 C is fine ? or should I warm the batteries but to what temperature in order for them to deliver the full amount of power that is need straight away...

Sorry I only use Centigrades... Fahrenheit makes no sense to me nor should make sense to anyone.

Thanks!
JC

Hello Guys...

Just wanted to enquire what battery temps are generally accepted to start a safe flight? 10 C is fine ? or should I warm the batteries but to what temperature in order for them to deliver the full amount of power that is need straight away...

Sorry I only use Centigrades... Fahrenheit makes no sense to me nor should make sense to anyone.

Thanks!
JC
10 C is good I wouldn't use any lower, although I am not a expert on this as I live in the Southwest.

Battery is good to fly from -10*C~40*C according to the new specs.

RedHotPoker

Last edited:
Reactions: bobmyers
Battery is good to fly from -15*C~40*C according to the new specs.

RedHotPoker
Thats the outside air temperature you're talking about...

The question is about the actual battery temperature I believe. I always look at mine before take off and it tends to be mostly between 15c - 20c, but not sure what would be the minimum recommended level to undertake a flight.

Lipo works better from 0° to 40°, 50° is not a problem, at 60° it is real the limit (at 75° a cell melts). Note that the temp sensor is not placed inside lipo substrate, so it depends how DJI battery senses the temperature and it this can be 5%-10% less than real.
At high temp > 60°C (but same happens < -20°) lipo sheets can be damaged, but, worst, the impedance between heavy load (motors) and current source lipo sheets get higher, rising temp in a dangerous escalation. In this case the battery auto-shutdown and P3 fall down from the sky.