Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Under the Hood - Production Model

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by allemtura, May 13, 2015.

  1. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    I decided to take my Phantom 3 Pro apart today to see how she ticks. Given that I'll need to do this for the Flytrex Live I've ordered, I thought I'd give it a go now. I may have voided my warranty, but to be honest I can't see how they would know if the lid has been removed... (except for a few very minor dents because those clips holding the lid on are a bloody pain in the ***!)

    Anyway, onto the pictures (those pics that look upside down were taken with the Phantom on its side, looking down from above):

    thumb_IMG_3521_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3516_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3515_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3514_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3510_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3509_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3508_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3507_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3505_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3504_1024.jpg
     
    #1 allemtura, May 13, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015
  2. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    and the rest:

    thumb_IMG_3534_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3529_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3528_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3527_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3526_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3524_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3522_1024.jpg
     
    gfredrone and cmyk22 like this.
  3. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    That SD card under the motherboard won't pop out because the metal slider holding it in place is itself held in place with glue.

    I couldn't take the whole motherboard out either because those LED circuit boards are stuck in place - looks like they melted the plastic protrusion they were mounted on to hold it in place.

    The side arm clips can be popped off by poking a small object through the vents and pushing the plastic retainer off the clip.

    The central clips were really difficult to remove though, hence using a ruler to pry them apart. Here are some more pics showing the clips in detail.

    thumb_IMG_3539_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3537_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3536_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3535_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3513_1024.jpg thumb_IMG_3512_1024.jpg
     
    #3 allemtura, May 13, 2015
    Last edited: May 13, 2015
  4. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    WOW you have gone from wondering about that memory card to stripping her back. You went for it :D good man. Cheers for the pics.
     
  5. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    heh thanks, I had hoped to look at the SD card contents, but it's fully glued in there. If I were to take all the LED boards out and motors off it may be possible, but I wasn't willing to go that far! :)

    Key thing is, she still flies after all that!
     
  6. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    If I recall correctly with reference to Mohan's pre-production photos...
    The production P3 LED modules have wires instead of flex circuits and the motor wires seem much better strain relieved at the main PCB with slots and adequate adhesive/sealer.
     
  7. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    Yes good point, I can see what you mean from Mohan's photos here: http://www.phantompilots.com/thread...de-the-hood-pictures.38694/page-6#post-357193
     
  8. blade strike

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    808
    Likes Received:
    462
    Location:
    Big Bear, CA
    Don't bother. You can see all contents of the sdcard when you connect the craft to a computer and put it in flight data mode.
     
  9. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    How exactly does the Flytrex device hook up its power source to the Phantom?
     
  10. Recce2

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2013
    Messages:
    103
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    Duluth, MN
    Excellent pics, do you care if I use some of them in a manual I am building?
    Thanks
     
  11. leekiya

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    1,103
    Likes Received:
    145
    Location:
    Lee. UK
    Im sure plenty will be going back to mohans post now and saving pics and comparing them that's for sure. allemtura i think your maybe the first to post pics from under the hood on a production model. It was Interesting to hear your observations on them NOR17RW,
     
  12. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    wow - thanks. I have been too busy flying... this is good stuff

    Revision on board is ending 07 (my model was 06)
     
  13. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    Thanks for the tip! How do you put it in flight data mode please? Will it just appear like a USB drive in this mode?
     
  14. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    Please do go for it, happy for them to used wherever.
     
  15. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    I think it will be via the CANBUS port (or P3 equivalent) as the P2V+ CANBUS version didn't need you to solder wires to a power source
     
  16. ctp

    ctp

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2014
    Messages:
    238
    Likes Received:
    88
    Location:
    Reston, VA
    Is there still a GPS antenna mounted to the top of the shell or is it all in the big black cube?
     
  17. VoicOfReason

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2014
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    129
    It's the "or equivalent" part that I'm trying to figure out. Will Flytrex REQUIRE everyone who purchases it to crack the hood of their Phantoms and possibly void all their warranties?
     
  18. allemtura

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2014
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPS antenna is indeed still mounted to the top of the shell, with a cable that then connects to the motherboard. It seems that out of the many photos I took, not one of them shows this! :)
     
    ctp likes this.
  19. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,745
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    It was the same with all prior versions. Not sure why popping the hood wouldn't be required ever... You need power and a "data" connection, not like you can splice the battery pins and expect GPS data...
     
  20. delirious

    Joined:
    May 4, 2015
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    143
    Thanks. Saved me from doing this. I saved all the pics for future reference