Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Under highway flying?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by surplussunshine, Aug 18, 2015.

  1. surplussunshine

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    A newly constructed dual level highway is being constructed in a town near me. The bottom level is currently under construction only for a few more months.

    Since the majority of it is vacant, how would the p3 handle with all the metal around?
     
    iquadtography likes this.
  2. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    If you loose signal at any point I think she will RTH right into the upper level. CRUNCH !
     
  3. surplussunshine

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    3
    Roy

    I'd be flying roughly 1000 ft out or so. This would be video for a later video.
     
  4. BudWalker

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    772
    Likes Received:
    226
    Location:
    Santa Margarita, Ca
    If you're worried about the compass fly it in ATTI mode. I'd be surprised if the compass were affected at 1000 feet
     
  5. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    The metal is usually only an issue for getting a compass calibrated and/or initialization on take-off. You should be fine to fly around steel. I think the thing you need to keep an eye on is if you lose GPS signal and switch to atti mode. But you should be fine otherwise. I recently flew all around a metal warehouse and the only issue I had was losing satellite signal when under the roof.
     
  6. rmfa

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2015
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    61
    Be ready to hit forward on the right stick and throttle up soon after to get it out of the way. It might be smart to set a low (very low) return to home height so it doesn't rise up into the top bridge if you lose signal.
     
    surplussunshine likes this.
  7. Viral

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2015
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    58
    As someone else mentioned, RTH is your biggest concern. I'd switch fail safe mode from rth to land so that it doesn't try to fly up to your safe altitude in case of a loss of signal.
     
    surplussunshine likes this.