Unable to update FW + flashing yellow lights

Reaction score
Hi all!

Total noob here that is struggling to get my drone up and running after combing these forums (and others) extensively. Eternally grateful to anyone who might be able to help :)

tldr; my brand new drone that I haven't yet flown is experiencing flashing yellow lights and I'm not sure what to do.

I got a DJI Phantom 3 Advanced for my birthday (which is today!) and have been going crazy trying to get it working.

After watching a handful of tutorial videos, I started off by trying to update the aircraft's firmware; after side loading the BIN to a new microSD card, I powered the device on. I think I must have cycled the machine off too early because then my drone went into a hellish cry with red flashing lights. Ultimately, after a handful of attempts and resetting the SD card a few times --> letting the device sit, I was able to stop the noise (described here:
)

However, I don't think I've been able to get the drone to actually update to the latest FW. I've tried two different microSD cards now and formatted them each several times, but no luck.

When I power the device up, I see two flashing yellow lights and two solid red lights. Poking around leads me to believe this might be related to the controller not being properly attached to the drone itself?

I've seen wacky solutions that involve using a super old desktop software and others that involve opening up the drone... but nothing really straight forward. Does anyone know what the best steps to correct this are? Beyond confused.

P.S. Separately from all of this, I was able to update my controller's firmware using the iOS DJI app.

Hi all!

Total noob here that is struggling to get my drone up and running after combing these forums (and others) extensively. Eternally grateful to anyone who might be able to help :)

tldr; my brand new drone that I haven't yet flown is experiencing flashing yellow lights and I'm not sure what to do.