Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Unable to load maps on iPhone air 2.

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by boludo, Jun 21, 2015.

  1. boludo

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    34
    Can someone help me with what I'm doing wrong?

    I had an iPad Air 2 non cellular that I tethered with my iPhone and it worked perfectly. I know have the cellular version air 2 and the maps don't seem to show up. It must be something obvious that I'm missing. Also the image transmission keeps cutting out or is super choppy. Image transmission setting was on auto. Gonna change it to custom to see if that helps. Sorry I guess that's 2 questions. [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk
     
  2. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Do you have data plan linked to your iPad? Does internet work when not connected to WiFi?
     
  3. boludo

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    34
    I thought I read that you don't need a data plan, that you just need the GPS which is on the cellular version as opposed to the non cellular which doesn't have GPS. Maybe you still need cellular service to load the maps?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  4. dmcgrew

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2015
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    65
    Yeah data plan is needed to load the map images. GPS will work, but you'll just be placed on a blank map like you are. You can preload the maps if you know exactly where you'll be flying. Just pan around the map before you go fly and it will be saved on your ipad. That way the GPS dot won't show up in an empty space.
     
    AmosMoses likes this.
  5. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    The cellular version iPad also has GPS. None cellular iPads do not have GPS. Having GPS allows you to set a dynamic home point (set a home point after the P3 is in the air). That's why people get the cellular version. :)

    You have two options:

    1) Connect to your WiFi at home and cache the maps. Make sure cache the maps in the background is enabled before you do this. This is an option on the Pilot app.

    2) Or get a data plan through your cell phone provider so you can load the maps when you open the app. No need to connect to WiFi beforehand.
     
  6. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    You can also connect the iPad to a mobile hotspot out in the field (where you're flying) if you have that service on your phone.
     
  7. boludo

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    34
    I thought when I mentioned that I did a local hotspot from my iPhone to my non-cellular iPad, others piped in to say that they don't recommend it because of the frequency? Thanks guys for taking the time to help me understand this.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  8. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Yes that is correct. If you do it that way, use the hotspot to cache the maps, then turn the hotspot off so it doesn't potentially interfere with the communication to the P3.
     
  9. boludo

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    34
    Ok. Great. Thanks for clarifying this.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  10. boludo

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    34
    I will take it out again tonight to see if changing the image transmission setting to custom will cure the video getting choppy or loosing connection.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  11. Kman

    Joined:
    Nov 12, 2014
    Messages:
    919
    Likes Received:
    425
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Try it in Auto too.
     
  12. denodan

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2013
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    You don't need the cellular version to get dynamic home point. You can buy a Bluetooth gps add on and use that on a wifi tablet only and cheaper then buying a cellular iPad mini or air 2 with cellular.