Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Unable to link remote control and aircraft

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Josh S, Apr 21, 2015.

  1. Josh S

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    My Phantom 2 and remote control lost link during flight and returned home. I've connected the RC to PhantomRC and did a calibration and all was fine. When I open up the Phantom application with both Phantom and RC connected via USB I am unable to see stick, gimbal, S1 or S2 movement under <Basic> <RC> tab, as if a remotes not even connected. I've tried resetting controller on Phantom by holding link button until flashing red appears, and reinstalling the firmware in PhantomRC has had no affect whatsoever on the outcome.
     
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
  3. Josh S

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  4. Josh S

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Turns out the controller on the P2 was bad. DJI replaced it under warranty
     
  5. RobH16

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kanata
    Hey Josh,
    I was having the same issues, was the bad controller the result of a crash? I've just sent mine off so I'm hoping its the same issue and mine will be returned back to me.
     
  6. Josh S

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    Rob, no, it was due to an error that occurred during a firmware update. The controller on the P2 didn't accept the update and went bad.
     
  7. RobH16

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kanata
    That seems very positive for me then. Mine stopped working immediately after doing the update. My P2 has only been gone about 5 days and I already wish it was back.
    How long did it take to get yours back, was it the full 6 weeks?
     
  8. Josh S

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    7
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    It was the full 6 weeks and if I hadn't of called at the end of the six weeks it quite possibly would have been an additional 3. They tried to tell me it wasn't 6 weeks from time I shipped but a full 6 weeks from time they actually document it as received which was several weeks after it actually was delivered.
     
  9. RobH16

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2015
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Kanata
    Well its been over a week since I've sent it, its still not showing as "Received" through USPS. Thought I would call and see if there was anyone that could tell me it was received or not. "Please call back in 2-3 weeks and we will be able to tell you". Great. Really regretting sending it away already. I Didn't check the GPS module to see if it was cracked but that's what I'm betting on right now.