Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Unable to connect datalink to iPad ground statio

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by eppez, Nov 11, 2015.

  1. eppez

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Anyone had any problems with connecting their Data Link BTU to their iPad? Can't find the BTU on my iPad. I've done the update on both the ground and air end.
     
  2. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Do you have your regular Phantom controller powered up and bound to the Phantom? This needs to be connected prior to the Groundstation as the Phantom needs to be in GPS mode for it to function and you can only change flight modes via the Phantom's controller

    Also once connected if your Controller doesn't have self centering throttle the stick needs to be in the 50% or greater position, because if not and you switch to ATTI mode the quad will fall from the sky.
     
  3. eppez

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    The problem is the iPad not finding ground unit of the Bluetooth datalink. I've got the Bluetooth turned on on the iPad but the iPad doesn't find the Bluetooth device. Also ground station keeps crashing too and waiting for DJI to release the new update. Can you connect the iPad and datalink together before turning on ground station?
     
  4. eppez

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    I've got the controller connected to the phantom before connecting ground station too and the upgraded control where the throttle is already in the middle at 50%
     
  5. Buckaye

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    420
    Location:
    Orlando
    Been a while since I had groundstation - but I never had to manually connect the ipad bluetooth to the datalink - it just happens as a result of running the groundstation app.

    If the groundstation app is crashing all the time - it is probably just not getting to the point where it makes the bluetooth connection. Once DJI fixes the app - it should be seamless.
     
  6. eppez

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Awesome thanks for you response. Hopefully the app is updated soon
     
  7. cheebs

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    71
    I don't think there will be further updates to Ground Station. DJI has changed focus and this product will reach EOL soon. With that said, mine connects automatically as soon as I start the GS app. Have you tried deleting and reinstalling the app?
    My sequence: Power Tx, Power MR, Start GS, connected.
    For full disclosure this is installed on an all-DJI F450 with Naza v2 and e310 propulsion system.
     
  8. eppez

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2015
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yep tried uninstalling and reinstalling it ground station and have done the same sequence. DJI got back to me and they said a new update is on the way and they have uploaded it to iTunes but waiting for Apple to approve the update
     
    cheebs likes this.
  9. cheebs

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2015
    Messages:
    246
    Likes Received:
    71
    Encouraging news then, will be on the lookout.
     
  10. johnbig

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Hi, Don't try to connect the Ipad to the Bluetooth unit. Just make sure BT is on in settings and then the GS app does the connecting.

    johnbig