Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Un used wire ?

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by Nwales, Aug 26, 2013.

  1. Nwales

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Hi guys , whilst fitting my futaba rx the other night I noticed this wire , it's not connected an looks like it isn't used ?

    Phantom work great with new futaba t8 , apart from no throttle spring so few near crash landings :lol:

    Anyway what is the wire used for ? It's thin double one at the top right on the board ??
     

    Attached Files:

  2. mercillus

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leander, Texas USA
    is that the extra wire for the FPV power?
     
  3. Nwales

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wales uk
    I don't have a clue :lol: could well be for FPV , I run my FPV off a separate battery anyway , was worried in case it was something I had caught of trapped .

    So I could run my tarot gimbal from that ?
     
  4. mercillus

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2013
    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Leander, Texas USA
    They left an extra powered cable in for FPV power. I dont use it either.
     
  5. Nwales

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Thanks guys I can relax now knowing what it's for :lol:

    Just need too sort a spring now for the throttle on the tx , just can't get used to it not returning to centre position :D
     
  6. marcus_canada

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    The wire isn't actually specifically for FPV, it's more of an accessory wire which you could use for Gimbal Power, FPV, LED system, anything you like. It's a nice touch I think :)
     
  7. howardmaryon

    Joined:
    May 4, 2013
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    The red/grey wire is for 12volt accessories, and can be very handy. I terminated mine in a standard white 4pin female plug, and added a switch, so you can power up your fpv transmitter, gimbal and even your running lights without connecting and reconnecting plugs, works a treat.
     
  8. Nwales

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wales uk
    That's what I'm going to do , is fit a switch for the gimbal an use that wire .
     
  9. MKheng

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Check the power the gimbal is drawing as the wires are thin and there have been reports of the wiring melting. There's a post somewhere on this forum to that effect. I've used my aux power cable to power my FPV TX as is doesn't draw too much current.
     
  10. Nwales

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wales uk
    Yes now you mentioned it, I remember reading that on here regarding the wires catching fire .

    Will do as you have or may just use the separate battery I run my FPV off .
     
  11. MKheng

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2013
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
  12. Nwales

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2013
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wales uk