Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Ultasonic system error

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Scradam, Jun 19, 2015.

  1. Scradam

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    So this happened my first flight after firmware update. I wrote yesterday about lines in my pics. Overexposure indicator I was told. My EV was set to high. This was pre firmware and after not flying it for a couple of weeks. Did the update. First flight get a warning. I messed with the dial for the camera,and it gets too dark before the lines go away. Is this 2 separate issues. Or could that be a slow failing Phantom Advanced?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. zincsoldier

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    31
    Imo, I think these are two separate issues. EV is for image adjustment while VPS is for flight control. Most people are having VPS error due to new firmware update. Have you tried to update your P3A to the newer firmware? http://www.dji.com/product/phantom-3/download
     
  3. Scradam

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    It's all update yes. Never had any issues prior to the update Aside from lines in my picture.
     
  4. DrewFlies

    DrewFlies Guest

    The lines in your picture is not an error and its an option. I forgot where to change that option. But, it has to do with warning you that what your recording is too bright. If you are in fact recording you will notice when you play that video back on your computer there will be no lines.
     
  5. Terry Lewis

    Joined:
    May 15, 2015
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Virginia
    The zebra pattern is called Over-exposure warning. In the Pilot App, goto camera setting, click more and turn off over-exposure warning.... Bye, bye zebra....
     
    Jbundy63 likes this.
  6. Scradam

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    Perfect. Hopefully lines will be gone next flight. Is it safe to fly with that error? Do I do an IMU calibration and see if it's ok from there?
     
  7. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,685
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    VPS isn't used for much more than flying indoors with no GPS or auto landing.
    It's very safe to fly with VPS disabled and you won't get those error messages.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Scradam

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    Probably worth contacting DJI over? I mean could I have a faulty VPS system? Or should I turn it off an hope there is an update soon to repair whatever glitch is in the new firmware. Never had that alert until I updated.
     
  9. loganboyd

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    398
    Likes Received:
    117
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  10. Jbundy63

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2015
    Messages:
    623
    Likes Received:
    164
    Been there, done that LOL
     
  11. Scradam

    Joined:
    May 7, 2015
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    NB, Canada
    Forgot to mention, I have 2 solid red lights at the front of the Phantom which according to the manual, this means critical error
     
  12. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,685
    Likes Received:
    3,419
    DJI know about the VPS error and are working on a fix for it.
    Just switch VPS off and fly happily.
    [​IMG]
     
    Scradam likes this.
  13. HP Entertainment

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Having the same problem with the ultrasonar error Meta4, best we can do is disable the VPS until DJI releases a new firmware update. From now on, I'll be going by the motto, if it aint broke don't fix it and applying THAT toward DJI's future firmware updates. I'm tired of being a guinea pig in DJI's cage.
     
  14. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Running 1.2.8 all day with no VPS issues, or any issues for that matter, this thin flies like a dream.