UK Pilots and Crashes. Phantom 2 Vision Plus

Reaction score
I'm fairly new to this having had my Vision+ for only 3 weeks (at time of post) and so far I have completed five successful flights.
I'm using mine straight from the box after upgrading the firmware has recommended by dji. I've read about NAZA M but not tried it yet, should I ? what are the benefits over the standard setting ?

So here's my question.......... Are the horror stories I have read about flyaway's due to pilot error or is there a serious glitch with the machine ?. I've read about components "frying" etc so I'm looking for true information and not just pilots blaming dji for errors they have made themselves.

On another subject can a GPS Tracker be fitted to the Vision Plus just in case of a flyaway ?. I see Rewire Security do a nano tracker and wondered if this could be attached in some way. Does anyone use or recommend something like this.

Sorry for all the questions guys. Looking forward to your answers.

I like NAZA M because of the home lock feature. If you change over, with both switches in the uppermost position, its the same anyway,

I think the majority of fly aways are either due to the craft not securing home lock initially or electrical interference from phone masts or similar. Avoid flying near phone masts!

For home lock, there will be two sets of rapid green flashes, one for compass direction and one for home position set after the craft has locked on to six satellites for a few seconds. It is vital not to fly if you're new until you have verified that home lock has been secured. Two simple ways to verify this; one, a single slow steady green light and two, check on the ground station screen that the home point (blue dot) is in the same position as the aircraft (red plane). Then you know that home is where it is at the moment.

If home lock has not been set, then the craft thinks it is outside the limits and flies away to where it believes home actually is.