Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

UFL Fail after itelite upgrade

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Mods' started by GS81VETT, Jul 20, 2015.

  1. GS81VETT

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hey guys,

    While installing the itelite antenna I broke the UFL connector for the antenna in the 5.8 transmitter. I tried to solder a new one back in and thought I did a good job but the copter still only goes about 600 feet, so I am guessing the repair job did not work.

    I would like to see if I can replace just the transmitter board instead of the entire device. Will a version 2 work in a version 3? Can I get a different board or do I have to stay with the version 3?

    Thoughts?

    G
     
  2. garrock

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    466
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Portsmouth Ohio USA
    The circuit boards inside the controller are different between older and newer models.

    Post a picture of the connector so we can see what and how it is broken.
     
  3. dirtybum

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2015
    Messages:
    3,314
    Likes Received:
    1,787
    Yeah , post a pic so we can help. Everybody's made that mistake I was putting the pigtail on the new style remote,when I broke the connector off I just took the connector out of the old-style remote put it in and everything works fine
     
  4. Jim1

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2015
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Florida
    I broke ufl connector on the 5.8 transmitter and was unable to find just the transmitter for sale. I tried to solder a replacement but between my eyesight and unsteady hands it failed. I was able to solder the cable direct to the board and it works great. I fly 2 plus miles with ease
     
  5. GS81VETT

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks guys. Sorry I have not put up a pic. I did find a new remote for a good price and blinded it and put on the new antenna. How ever the distance is only 1200 feet and video fails. I think the controls still work because I do not get the come home pop up..... Ugh! Perhaps the wifi is failing?