UAV Forecast Settings

Reaction score
What do you guys have for your settings for it to tell you if it is safe to fly. I'm just wondering if I have some of them set wrong/I don't really need them set at what I have it to. Also, if I have it in bold, can you tell me what it means (you may have to dumb down your description haha)? Most of these, are still set from the 'factory settings'

Mine is at…
Max wind - 18km/hr (I have it a bit lower as I am still new at flying)
Wind Altitude - 33 feet

Min Temp : -10C
Adjust for Wind Chill - On
Max Precip % - 50%
Max Sky Cover - 100%
Min Visibility - 3km (I have it set at that seeing that the Phantom's range is 2km. This one I really won't pay attention to anyways)

Min GPS Sats - Off
GPS Elev Mask: 5 deg
Include GLONASS Sats - Off

Min Est Sats - 10
Max Kp - 5

Reason why I'm wondering is because my Est. Sats Locked in the forecast has been less than 10 most of the time (like 90% of the time)

Appreciate it!!

Wind Altitude is the altitude at which it is forecasting winds, so if it shows 15MPH and your setting is 33ft it means that their forecast model is saying that winds at 33ft will be 15MPH

I think GPS Elevation Mask is the minimum elevation for GPS satellites, so say you have hills all around you that are approximately 5 degrees above the horizon you'd want that set as 5 degrees, if you're in a Canyon you'll probably want it higher.

Min Est Sats is the minimum number of sats they think will be above you at the time. Due to their orbits sometimes you'll have more or less satellites above you, and you want the most possible to get the best accuracy in GPS position.

Sorry, I just realized they go into more detail right on the website if you click on the question marks next to each field:

Q. What is the GPS Elevation Mask?