Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s?????

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by Gots2HaveToys, May 17, 2014.

  1. Gots2HaveToys

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm taking the plunge. I ordered a GoPro Hero3+ Black .... and the next part of the plan is a Phantom 2 with a pre-installed H3-3D Gimbal. While reading through tons of threads I came across one by DoubleD where I found this

    "- Research the installation, wonder why the hell people make holes in their Phantom
    - Realize that there is two types of H3-3d gimbals and two types of Phantom 2
    - Come to terms with the fact that you have the fragile type of gimbal, and the original P2, which means yes drilling"

    So there are "TWO VERSIONS" of Phantom 2 AND "TWO VERSIONS" (one being fragile which doesn't sound desirable to me) of the H3-3D Gimbal????

    How does one tell the difference and ensure that they get the correct ones when ordering? Is there a place to order from that will ensure that you get the Pre-drilled Phantom 2 and NON-Fragile H3-3D Gimbal???
     
  2. sergekouper

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    London UK
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    AFAIK, there is now a new type of P2, able to receive the H3-3D without modif. if you have a and original P2, you have to modify it because the 3rd axis motor of the gimbal woud touch the case, hence the enlargement of the existing hole. No big deal.
    A new support has been released to mount the new H3-3D on the "old" P2 (mine is 2 months old ! :) ) I don't know if you still have to drill.
    About the H3-3D, there is only 1 model, it's apparently lighter than the H3-2D. Wether it's one or the other anyway, they are both fragile.

    This is what I've understood...
    Hope it helps.
     
  3. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    There are two versions of the Phantom 2. The difference is the hole at the bottom to accommodate the H3-3D.
    As for the H3-3D, there are also two versions. The 2nd version of the H3-3D connects to the Go Pro using the mini USB port on the side rather than plugging in through the back. I think I had read that the change was to accommodate the use of Lightbridge.
     
  4. Gots2HaveToys

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    Once I knew more about what I was looking for I found this about the two versions of the Phantom 2

    http://www.cyberfanatics.com/p2v2.pdf
     
  5. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    That's correct about the 2 versions of the H3-3D, but I cannot see how the 2nd version was to accommodate Lightbridge - it works perfectly well with the original H3-3D.
     
  6. Gots2HaveToys

    Joined:
    May 15, 2014
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    I'm having a hard time finding details on this one too ... watched some Lightbridge Installs on youtube and can't see where there's a difference ... I'm not sure what the differences ARE or how to tell them apart ... gonna ask doubled ...
     
  7. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    I understand the difference between the two versions - I just can't see the relevance to Lightbridge. I have Lightbridge with the original H3-3D, which runs HDMI out through a lightweight HDMI cable from the GoPro, but charges the GoPro in the traditional way through the rear panel connector. I don't have to mess around with fragile ribbon cables and extra boards, the GoPro gets power from the P2, and I can access the microSD card. I cannot see any advantage to the 1.1 version.
     
  8. Diesel31

    Joined:
    May 20, 2013
    Messages:
    263
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    Totally agree with all you guys. No sure why the running change, just what I read. I'm currently using the original H3-3D, but it's slightly (and I mean ever so slightly) bent which is why I p/u the new version. It's still in the box and I'm contemplating returning it. I wouldn't be surprised if DJI does a 1.1.2 which would basically be the original. :D
     
  9. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    What we need is the original, but with HDMI out through the slip rings.
     
  10. sergekouper

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2014
    Messages:
    752
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    London UK
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    There is no 2 versions of the P2 but 1 new P2 model replacing the original with a bigger hole to accomodate the H3-3D. I believe that the H3-2D will be discontinued , which makes sense, as well as the older P2, as well as the first generation of vision, since the vision+ appeared.
    About the 2 models of H3-3D it's IMO temporary, I forgot I read that there was some interference in the video that were not appearing through the USB port.
     
  11. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    Re: Two Types of H3-3D Gimbal and Two Types of Phantom 2s???

    That explanation was also floating around, although I don't see any interference, and I'm not using the anti-interference board. If that were the case then it still looks like a rather half-assed solution to the problem.