Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Two tablets

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by brialin, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. brialin

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to use two tablets at the same time on the vision? My wife would like to also see what the camera sees while am flying the vision. I am currently using a 7" tablet. Could I use mine just for flying and could she use hers for controlling the camera? I am hoping someone can help as I do not want to buy another tablet if it doesn't work. Neither of us has a smart phone so that is not an option to try.

    Brian
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    You can't connect two devices and see the downlink on both, unfortunately. If your tablet supports HDMI out you could mirror your screen onto another device with HDMI in (a monitor, for example).
     
  3. streetcreep

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    You kind of can with that android app I mentioned Mirrorop . It is basically sharing what one tablet can see to another .. I have not been able to try in a flight situation cause it is minus 30 here . But I have connected one tablet to see the screen of another . So yes and sort of no . i have had them both looking at the DJI vision app screen sharing . You cannot control from both
     
  4. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    I was guessing the OP probably wouldn't have a rooted device. Shame it can't be done with a stock setup.
     
  5. streetcreep

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    Mine is not rooted at all..stock
     
  6. streetcreep

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Oh, that's odd. The first thing I saw on their website was:

    Are you saying that you don't need to be rooted to use this despite what they say on their website? That would be very interesting!
     
  8. streetcreep

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    only need to be rooted if you are going to a windows machines .. I am going android to android ..no root .. going from my galaxy note 2 to a asus tft300 tablet
     
  9. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Aha! Thanks for that, that makes more sense now. :)
     
  10. streetcreep

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2013
    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    1
    I think it has to do with the device you have as well . I think my note 2 (the sender) allows wha needs to be tweaked stock ..maybe other devices need root
     
  11. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Not sure what software the o/p's tablets use but the new version of Android (kitkat) supports screen sharing. I have not checked recently but there may be new apps that exploit this capability but as Pull_Up points out, only one of the devices would actually be in control of the aircraft, the other one would just be a dumb display.