Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Twitch and Youtube live streaming, do I need LTE tablet?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by FCPhantom, Apr 27, 2015.

  1. FCPhantom

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Finland
    Hi
    Can I use hotspot, if I want broadcast live video (Twich, Youtube live stream..), or must it be LTE tablet?
     
  2. davemex

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Streaming over WIFI would likely work even better than LTE, as the bandwidth is typically better. So you should be fine with a WIFI only tablet as long as you're flying somewhere with WIFI. Personally I ordered a WIFI only Nexus 7 (2013) to stream using my home wifi.
     
  3. FCPhantom

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Finland
    I am planing to use my cellphone 4G mobile data connection, sharing it to my tablet...
     
  4. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    Hotspot would work.

    Hotspot would be that the OP is connected to a cell phone or device via wifi.
     
  5. davemex

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2015
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    85
    Location:
    Cincinnati, OH
    Ahh yes, that will still work. Should work just as well as having a tablet with native 4G as long as the devices are close.
     
  6. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,212
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Do you have any idea how much data you will be using with that method? You can simulate it without it being with the quad to get an idea. I have a feeling it may be a lot. I think my best and only option would be to do it like davemex described using the same device.
     
  7. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Yeah, roughly speaking:
    2.5 mbps for 720p is 0.3 MB / s or 18 MB / min or 1080 MB / hr
    I'd imagine (hope) there will be a video quality setting for streaming. I don't plan to use it much, if at all, but would be nice to dumb it down a bit to spare the overage fees :)
     
  8. FCPhantom

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Finland
    In Finland we have unlimited 4G mobile data, with maximum speed...
     
    gingericeman likes this.
  9. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,212
    Likes Received:
    910
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Is that available from all tower access points, or mostly in major cities?
     
  10. FCPhantom

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2014
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Finland
    My operator has very good coverage in major cities and dense populated areas, at least 3G.
     
  11. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    You saying you don't have Tmobile?
     
  12. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Will your phone hot spot connect via wifi to the tablet, or only via BT while connected to LTE? My iPhone 6+ will connect via wifi to the iPad while getting wifi from my router, but when no local wifi is available (phone wifi turned off) and the iphone is on LTE then it will only connect to the tablet via BT, and I don't know if that connection is fast enough to live stream.
     
  13. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    That doesn't make sense. If your phone has an LTE connection and set up as a hotspot, it will be a WiFi host, and the device you use to connect to the hotspot will join the WiFi network. I don't see where BT enters the equation. Maybe I'm out of the apple game for too long but if that's truly the case I'm glad I ditched apple years ago. But I'd be shocked if a BT connection were established by default when the host device had an LTE connection and was set as a hotspot.
    In short, no, BT can't handle the data stream.
     
  14. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    DUH!!! I see where I screwed the pooch, by turning off wifi trying to force a LTE connection it was not available for a wifi connection. If I turn it on at home it connects automatically to my home wifi, and not LTE. I had to tell the phone to forget the home wifi, leave it on, then turn on hotspot to force it to use LTE. I am sure when I am out away from any wifi coverage it will connect correctly. I get so used to all of my data equipment connecting seamlessly I sometimes forget how it all connects.
     
    bbfpv likes this.
  15. tcope

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2015
    Messages:
    3,508
    Likes Received:
    1,387
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    I'm not sure that even makes sense. If your iPhone is connected to your router why would you want another device to connect to your iPhone and use the iPhone as the go between? You'd just connect the device to your router.

    A hotspot allows a wifi connection to it and is also connected to cell data service. It then simply acts as a relay. That is what a hotspot is.
     
  16. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    You are late to the party, read previous post please.....