Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

  1. MichaelS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Hi,
    I'm trying to change the standard USB module to the HDMI version. I have no problem getting the white cover off with a 1.5MM hex wrench. The trouble is the three black Phillips screws that hold the circuit board in place. My #0 Phillips screwdriver just spins and does not make contact with the screw notch. Please help!
     
  2. Erised

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    336
    You can puchase a precision screewdriver set for about 10 to 15 dollars. I'm dont know the size you need, could be a #00. Get a good set because cheap one's tend to strip the screw. The size of philiips on dji is probbably metric like a 1.2 or 1.8 or 2mm metric has many sizes.
     
    MichaelS likes this.
  3. MichaelS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    What I really need is the exact tool I need to buy. Is it a JIS screwdriver? Anyone?
     
    #3 MichaelS, Apr 24, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 24, 2016
  4. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    No,it's a Phillips. Do what Erised mentions - get a decent set of small screwdrivers. You will wonder how you survived adulthood without them.
     
    MichaelS likes this.
  5. mnewxcv

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2016
    Messages:
    269
    Likes Received:
    65
    MichaelS likes this.
  6. sar104

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    1,265
    Likes Received:
    245
    Location:
    Los Alamos, NM.
    I used the precision Phillips screwdriver that came with my P2. That worked fine.
     
    MichaelS likes this.
  7. CactusJackSlade

    Joined:
    May 29, 2014
    Messages:
    600
    Likes Received:
    114
    NOTE OF CAUTION: do NOT over tighten the PCB mounting screws when you put it back together.... you will crack the screw /board mounting posts (ask me how I know!)
     
    MichaelS likes this.
  8. MichaelS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Thanks Guys! It turns out I had a very cheap set of screwdrivers. I bought a "precision" set for 4 bucks and all is well. :)
     
  9. Justgregg

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    it a set of small torks...home depot has them
     
  10. MichaelS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    No, it's a proper #0 Phillips.
     
  11. WetDog

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2015
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    640
    I'm sure you could fit a torx in there once or twice.....

    I do it all the time if I forget to put on my magnifiers.
     
  12. Cale262

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2015
    Messages:
    382
    Likes Received:
    124
    Location:
    Alberta/Arizona
    You can never go wrong buying a good set of quality tools!
     
    Jack Ley and MichaelS like this.
  13. Jack Ley

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    17
    Not sure if you like using that "WIsh" website, but it's great for gadgets and what now, this is the micro tool set I got, and it was the best thing I ever got for working on my Phantom and my racing quads.

    Wish | micro screwdriver
     
  14. alokbhargava

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5,142
    Likes Received:
    1,658
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Also safely unlatch the ribbon cables, replace the cards, put back the cables and latch them again carefully.
     
    MichaelS likes this.
  15. MichaelS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Yep, I did that. It's working great now.
     
  16. Erised

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    336
    Michael, I just installed my HDMI module and all I get is no connection to the rc. So yours works ok?
     
    #16 Erised, May 4, 2016
    Last edited: May 4, 2016
  17. MichaelS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Well with your fingers it is kind of difficult to plug in the long ribbon cable. I managed it with my fat fingers but you might want to use a pair of tweezers to hold that cable to make sure it is all of the way inserted into the connector. Also the skinny black cable on the right and the left side have to be connected too.
     
  18. Erised

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2016
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    336
    Yep done all that, even took the cover off to disconnect the hdmi port from the board and I got connection so the usb works but as soon as hdmi is connected it won't connect to the rc.
     
  19. MichaelS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Ok, I got immediate success with the USB, but I have not hooked up the HDMI yet because I don't have the cable to reach my TV. I certainly hope it works. I will keep you posted.
     
  20. MichaelS

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2015
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Lynnwood, WA
    Alrighty then, I found a cable and the HDMI works perfectly.