Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Transmitter calibration problem

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by patc221, May 8, 2013.

  1. patc221

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. E Wyoming
    I have tried and tried to recalibrate my transmitter. Evertime I connect to the software it shows a -5 value in the channel monitor for the transmitter. When I take off it goes to the left and comes toward me.

    any help would be greatly appreciated
     
  2. allenj

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same thing here. Several times I did the full calibration using the Phantom Advanced User Manual and I cannot get everything centered at "0". Does anyone know why this is?
     
  3. k8xd

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Those values are preprogrammed into the Phantom from the software. Don't worry about them. Just enjoy.
     
  4. allenj

    Joined:
    May 6, 2013
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Our concern is that during startup, we are seeing double-green flashes indicating that our sticks are not centered (at "0") if they were centered (as they should be after calibration) we would get the proper single-green flash as we are supposed to before takeoff.
     
  5. auck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    you will always get the double green before flight. that is because you NEED to have the throttle stick at the bottom. meaning that you can never have a single green blip at the very beginning. arm your motors, then move your throttle stick to the "0" position to get the single green blip.
     
  6. telecaster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    DJIs own Phantom web does not agree with you, they state that the throttle stick is not included in the center check:
    [​IMG]
     
  7. auck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    interesting. since the update, i always get double blinks until i arm the motors and have the throttle back up to center. maybe it's just my craft?
     
  8. telecaster

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Drøbak, Norway
    :)
    After testing on the field today I believe that you are right and the manual is wrong,
    mine too behave they way you are describing. It goes to show that you cant trust DJI.... :roll: :D
     
  9. auck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    i blame it on typos and things being mixed up in translation.... they really do need to hire a good translator that can translate chinese to english... and add a good proof reader too :)
     
  10. pwright

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2013
    Messages:
    282
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Las Cruces, NM
    Or it just shows that published information - even on the web - is out of date the minute it is published.

    They just released the new firmware. What is the chance that they have actually updated the manual and/or website to reflect the new changes?
     
  11. auck

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2013
    Messages:
    275
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    too true - just double checked the LED manual they have up on their website and it is dated 2013-03-19. :lol:
     
  12. tachac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, I had same problem but then after calibration I tried to click on reverse and back to normal and it jumped to 0 again, in my case.

    But NOW I have problem that speed on my transmitter doesn't work from 0 (stick down) but only from middle to up (stick in the middle)

    I definitely did something wrong but I have no idea where . Everything works fain just speed doesn't go smoothly from 0-100% , but I would say from 30 % of stick position ...

    Any ides???

    Btw. My english sucks, sorry :-D

    Thanks for advices - Tomas from Prague
     
  13. Tijo

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2013
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same issue as Tomas and the 'copter wants to pull slight to one side. Could it be a transmitter calibration issue?
     
  14. reaperrchobby

    Joined:
    May 12, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Same here. Dead stick from 0 to 45ish then sudden power with slight drift to right.......Dji needs to pull head out of backside. Admit issues and fix them. I do reviews for potential dealers and have already stopped at least 15 shops from selling. Not good
     
  15. tachac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I already did 10 times calibration and I'm having still same problem... So question is : Is it repairable? Or should I take Phantom back to shop? Have you guys read more about this problem somewhere? :(
     
  16. FangsCPO

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    793
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Chula Vista, CA
    I would say the online manual is out-of-date. What is it with this company that they don't come out with an annoucement on what's coming down the pipe or what to expect for. This is totally crazy!! There is some serious liabilties here. I know we all want to have fun and promote how good this aircraft is but doesn't DJI realize that we are their best advertisers. Keep us happy!!
     
  17. MRSpyder2U

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2013
    Messages:
    80
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rome, Georgia y'all
    I had the same issue with the -5 on the sticks and the double-green. Last night I did the transmitter calibration and really PUSHED the sticks into the corners. I was able to get two of the numbers to oscillate 0 and -1 and the other to a steady 0. Today, most of the time, I was able to get a single-green where I had double-green.
     
  18. patc221

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. E Wyoming
    I did get my Phantom to go to all zeros by installing the Assistant 2.12. It zeroed them right away. All but the rotation. I restored the default on the assistant and it zeroed the rotation. Make sure you check your setting on the Naza to make sure they are where you want them. Now I have return to home on the second attitude position. I have not tried it yet so use info with caution. The wind has been blowing here with gusts up to 60 mph.