Tracking vs DJI Go

Reaction score
I fly in some remote areas and I'm new to the P4. I noticed that the software, DJI Go, keeps a trail of my flight. So I was thinking that if I had a fly away or crashed into a tree that trail might help me find my P4. But then I have been looking at the "Marco Polo" tracking system. Which will offer the best results in the event of an accident.

I fly in some remote areas and I'm new to the P4. I noticed that the software, DJI Go, keeps a trail of my flight. So I was thinking that if I had a fly away or crashed into a tree that trail might help me find my P4. But then I have been looking at the "Marco Polo" tracking system. Which will offer the best results in the event of an accident.
trackimo also works really great

The DJI Go app loses track of your quad when there's a fly away. That's the definition of what a "fly-away" is. You MAY be able to decipher its last heading/direction, but that's pretty much it. That's why companies like the one that makes Marco Polo have thrived, filling a gap that exists in the current technology.

Reactions: Scotty88
trackimo also works really great

Anything that tracks beyond the DJI-like softwares is going to involve a piece of GPS based tracking hardware attached to the multi. Most will interface with an app based tracking software, yes.

is this an app? and will it work with P3?

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots
it isn't a app you put it on bird
2016-02-26 15.13.25.jpg

Reactions: Droneboss and J-F
Thanks for the replies. I guess I should have known that in a "fly away" the DJI Go tracking would stop. God sometimes I surprise myself at how stupid about these things I can be. I think I'll line up a "Marco Polo" setup.

Reactions: WilsonFlyer
Anything that tracks beyond the DJI-like softwares is going to involve a piece of GPS based tracking hardware attached to the multi. Most will interface with an app based tracking software, yes.