Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Trackimo Tracker

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Pepperami, Oct 11, 2015.

  1. Pepperami

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
    Hey guys

    Those of you that are using the Trackimo Mini GPS Tracker, how and where did you mount it to the P3?

    Is there a holder you can buy?

    Just thought for the money this was a good idea, if it lands on the land and not on water that is lol
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,581
    Location:
    US
  3. timmer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    74
    Location:
    New Orleans
    I have the one from Gimbal-Guard and it works perfectly.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Mr.Spock likes this.
  4. MPD352

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    29
  5. Pepperami

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
    I wish I had a 3D printer ;(
     
  6. brianb87

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2015
    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    148
    ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1444589632.495142.jpg

    Have mine zip tied. Also have a holder I need to put on. Make sure to add it to the opposite side of the compass.
     
  7. Pepperami

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2015
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    13
    OK will do :)
     
  8. keepngoal

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    does it create an unbalanced bird?
     
  9. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    I wanted to keep it as light as possible so I ziptied it under the belly behind my gimbal. Access to the power switch also. I have a P2, but this applies to the Trackimo so I thought I would give my input.
     
  10. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Unfortunately in our P3A/P3P, there is this optical-visual module behind the camera-gimbal. So unless we don't use this optical feature and disable it, tying the Trackimo there is not an option.
     
  11. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    Oh that's right... Sorry I forgot about the great feature the P3's have!
     
  12. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    Actually I have disabled mine since the beginning :p
     
  13. Coach

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2015
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    11
    From what I've gathered, trackimo will no longer work in the US after Jan 2017 because 2g gsm networks are shutting down. I'm not 100% sure on this, just suggesting one looks into it further
     
  14. Justgregg

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    119
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    use mine on all flights...love it.
     
    pomonabill220 likes this.
  15. Noodle

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2015
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    Sydney, Australia
    What are the things you love about your Trackimo?
     
    MattyDread likes this.
  16. ScopeTech

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2015
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    59
    I have a 3D printed mount coming that I found on Ebay, it appears to mount between the two legs near the top.
     
  17. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,953
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    The Trackimo website says the tracker uses PCS1900 for cellular communication, and I've read that it uses ATT as the carrier. I don't think PCS1900 is going EOL, it's listed as 3G.


    Trackimo spec:

    upload_2015-12-19_20-35-48.png

    Cellular carriers and their technologies:
    upload_2015-12-19_20-42-34.png
     
    #17 John Locke, Dec 19, 2015
    Last edited: Dec 19, 2015
  18. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    390
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    Mine uses the stock velcro and I pulled the sticky tape on it and put it on the Carbon Fiber gimble guard on the left side against the landing leg behind all of the camera. This way it can be taken off and charged.
    Photo0.jpg
     
  19. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    and this is from the trackimo website saying 2G.
    confused?
    Plus I called them and spoke to a rep., and he said 2G as well.
     

    Attached Files:

  20. pomonabill220

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2015
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    56
    I did a little more looking and on wikipedia, dated Dec. 16 2015, T-Mobile is not planning to shut down their 2G networks, but everyone else is.
    Here is the page: 2G - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
    about 2/3rds down the page under 2G shutdown...