Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Tracker

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Turbazz, Feb 20, 2015.

  1. Turbazz

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    31
    Location:
    UK. Leicester.
    I've been looking at trackers online, so many options out there Even on eBay and quite cheap. Some have the ability to be hardwired. So what's the best option to go for from your experience guys. is it possible to be hardwired? Some require Sim cards basically like a phone,Will this not affect the Phantoms GPS. How much will it affect the drones flight time with the extra weight and power.
     
  2. dirkclod

    dirkclod Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    10,639
    Likes Received:
    5,698
    Location:
    Amory Mississippi
    Hey Turbazz,
    There's many to pick from and everyone here has a different one they like . I use a TK102B and has served me well .It is around 57 grams and have really never checked how much time it takes off from my flight time and really don't think it's much and don't really matter to me as I think ya need to have something whatever ya get .
    A lot use Flytrex and drone-Mods and just to many to list . It does require a card but most do .
    Does not affect the GPS but when you do put one on you need to do a full compass calibration or if you move the location of where you put it you need to do one . You will see a lot more info on trackers if ya put in trackers here https://www.google.com/cse/publicurl?cx ... jku2ysgyhi
     
  3. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    If you use a hard wired tracker, you may find that it disconnects if you crash, so you may not get a fix as to where it is.

    The TK102 and its many clones can be had for $25 or less and pair with a sim card, make a cheap and quite reliable tracker.

    They use GSM signals to send short text messages and use their own GPS for location. Mine is accurate to better than 3M - probably even less! It is set up to send a signal every few minutes as soon as a battery is inserted and if I send it an SOS command, it will continue to do so until I tell it to stop, or the battery goes dead. I can also call it and listen to the audio, which is useful if you cannot locate it visually or someone has walked off with it. The battery is good for 20-50 hours.

    It won't interfere with the quadcopter, so your only challenge is where to mount it! Mine sits on a bracket at the front of the quad which also moves the camera forward to clear the legs.
     
  4. riverphantom3

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Thanks!
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  5. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    take a look at the marco polo.
     
  6. riverphantom3

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2015
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    91
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Too expensive.
     
    MeiklesAndDimes likes this.
  7. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    how so?
    you get what you pay for.
     
  8. Dirby

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2014
    Messages:
    813
    Likes Received:
    128
    Location:
    Dothan Al
    ok if the marco polo is to much for you try this one that i use in my free flight models.
    600.00

    [​IMG]