Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

[TOOL][WIN] Offline TXT FlightRecord to CSV Converter

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by ferraript, Mar 6, 2016.

  1. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Two different formats make things difficult when it comes to dashware gauges. Dashware users will have to create a gauge for each format.

    The problem I had with the Dollar General store converter was he never took into consideration the R/C has not 1 but 4 different lever configurations. He has the 4 fields only set for mode option 1. I believe most users have their R/C set at mode option 2. In my case the RC.elevator and RC.throttle were switched around.
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    23,582
    Likes Received:
    7,093
    Location:
    Harrisburg, PA
    You would think DJI GO would output the data to the appropriate location. I wonder how this works when someone is using the custom stick configuration.
     
  3. ringolong

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    TN
    Would like to take a look if you are sharing.
     
  4. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    @ferraript ....would it be possible to add another number position on the speed related column's? It would be like 29.902.
     
  5. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Maybe it does output to the right location now, but somethings possibly missing in the formula? I know the converter needs to know which OS you are using. Could also be why when I have a P3P and the log file is seeing it as a P3A. I'm guessing just a few minor tweaks, maybe?
     
  6. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    yes, this is right, just minimum and maximum values are different :)
     
  7. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    yesterday I did some tests
    I was clicking on the buttons on the RC, then changing all kind of settings in DJI GO app
    everytime I wrote down exact time of the corresponding action
    then I looked into TXT log (and also generated CSV), at those time records
    result is, RC stick mode is not present in the TXT log

    why do you need speed in millimetres per second? :)
    I think that even now, centimetres per second, is redundant
     
  8. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    I am putting it together in the Excel
    when I'm done, I will share
    in the meantime you can always look in those sources, I mentioned in my first post
     
  9. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    maybe iOS version uses different numbering of the drones
    with Android version I'm 100 % sure I'm giving correct "translation", because I decompiled (Android) DJI GO app and it's right there:

    public enum DroneType {
    Unknown(0),
    Inspire(1),
    P3S(2),
    P3X(3),
    P3C(4),
    OpenFrame(5),
    ACEONE(6),
    WKM(7),
    NAZA(8),
    A2(9),
    A3(10),
    P4(11),
    P34K(15),
    wm220(16),
    Inspire2(17),
    NoFlyc(255),
    None(100);
     
  10. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I didn't say anything about millimeters or centimeters. No doubt want the mph, just want to read 3 positions(or thousandths) behind the decimal point. I like having the ability to see the exact point in which a particular change takes place. The current data as you know displays 2 positions (or hundredths). There could be 3-4 lines in a row that show the same amount, such as:

    Line
    426) 7.65
    427) 7.65
    428) 7.65

    However, the 3rd position(or thousandths) will show better detail, such as:

    426) 7.653
    427) 7.655
    428) 7.651

    As you can now see it was line 427 that the A/C topped out in speed. I can now better cross reference this on the same line on other categories.
     
  11. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    1notp3A.jpg

    Frank D'Amato(dashware guru) and myself were working on some issues with the Dollar General converter some time back. and we discovered that some of the Category Columns display in different locations of the CSV logged file between Android and ios versions. Now I have no idea how it was fixed overall. But I do know that info is logged as shown in the image below. You see the categories droneType, appType, appVersion1, appVersion2, appVersion3. Depending on the displayed number in each of those columns is determined by the drone and OS type being used.


    1osV.jpg
     
    #31 flyNfrank, Mar 11, 2016
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2016
  12. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    @flyNfrank
    1. could you send me one of your P3P logs from iOS app?
    2. about information stored in different locations, I know that, even in Android version, for example, battery type and percentage is stored according to flycVersion
    3. adding more decimal numbers is not a problem
    4. do Dashware users need RAW values of columns? because I plan to remove all those columns, where their meaning is known
     
  13. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,301
    Likes Received:
    942
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I attached a zipped txt & csv version.
    I only know of one person that uses the RAW values in dashware, and that is for 1 category. I prefer the text wording myself.
     

    Attached Files:

    • fLog.zip
      File size:
      629.7 KB
      Views:
      81
  14. ferraript

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2016
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    Slovakia/Kosice
    new version is out
    changes include:
    - all RAW columns were removed, because their explanation is known
    - some numeric values were changed to their meaning, for example RCmode, droneType, appType
    - all speed columns now have 3 decimal digits (I still don't understand, why @flyNfrank needs that, but I don't care)
    - if location in DETAILS is not known, "Map Loading" text is not shown now

    decompiling the DJI GO app didn't help me so much, because it only says the position, length and datatype of columns, but their names are unknown
    for example, there are 18 columns in firmware record, some of them show 1.6.40, but I don't know, where they belong (maybe drone, battery, RC, camera, ...)

    that means that if no miracle happens, there won't be any new columns in the CSV
     
  15. ringolong

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2016
    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    TN
    Good deal. Thanks!
     
  16. Zippitydoda

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there a link to the new version? Thanks for your effort!
     
  17. AchillesPDX

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    6
    This is excellent! I just got my Phantom Advanced and was getting frustrated by all the pay-to-convert websites for these log files. So happy to see an offline tool.

    I'm working on a Dashware profile for this log type and I just want to make sure my units are correct - I'm assuming all the distance units are in meters and the speed units are in meters/sec? Is that correct?

    Thanks so much!
     
  18. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    i believe so, but there are some decimal issues that will need to be fixed in the converter or in Dashware.

    I also started s profile, but will wait to finish it, as I have requested some fields to be added and corrected.

    This is a great tool, willing to donate for development if needed.
     
  19. Fdnyfish

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2013
    Messages:
    667
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Barnesville, PA
    all those conversions can be done in dashware
     
  20. Zzyzx

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2016
    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Beaverton, OR, USA
    Same question. Sorry if I'm being dense here. The original posting had the file(s) attached, but there have been several updates -- where does one get the updates? Thanks!

     
Loading...