Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Professional To Upgrade Firmware or not?

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Harleymhs, Aug 25, 2015.

  1. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    Hey Guys, I'm running the old Pilot app with Firmware 1.2.6 and all is fine! Should I upgrade my app and firmware to the newest one or are there any issues with this 8/4/15 release? Thanks!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,782
    Likes Received:
    5,530
    Location:
    US
  3. Mordor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    114
    IF you were on 1.1.9 i would say NO, but since you are on 1.2.6, go for it!
     
  4. Wild Willie

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    South West Florida
    I am a believer in updating whenever you can. I was one of the first to update to Windows 10. I have the latest firmware and now have flown 14 flights from 26 seconds (my first) to 14 minutes (my longest). None of which had a problem. My biggest problem is that the bright sun here I Florida makes it difficult to see the screen on my iPad Mini. Even with a sun shade. I say UPDATE!
     
  5. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    Here I thought I had the golden ticket with 1.2.6 I guess 1.1.9 is the winner! I read you can roll back the firmware is this true or its too much a headache to roll back..
     
  6. Mordor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    114
    There is even a hack to install any FW...but if im not wrong, installing lastest FW, allows you to roll back to 1.1.9.

    I have 1.1.9 and no issues, so im not in worry to update. If it works.....
     
  7. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    You have to be at the Latest firmware to roll back to 1.1.9 can you roll back to 1.1.9 from 1.2.6?
     
  8. Mordor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    114
    You must install lastest FW.....after then you can rollback to 1.1.9. From 1.2.6 its impossible, but on the last one DJI allows rollback.

    Someone please confirm or not, here ;-)
     
  9. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    So I think im reading these correct, you cannot roll back from 1.2.6 youhave to go all the way up to the latest FW then you can go back to 1.1.9 or 1.2.6 again from the latest ????? If this is the case how do you roll back from the latest FW? Thanks Guys!
     
  10. Mordor

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    639
    Likes Received:
    114
    Correct.
    Read the instructions avaible on lastest FW. Its all there.
     
  11. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    Read the latest FW instructions that came with the FW Nothing in there to ROLL BACK the FW!
     
  12. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    It will roll it back to 1.1.9? Why would you want to roll back to 1.2.6-- that was the problem-- that created the uproar- the 1.2.6 and 1.2.8 firmware.
     
  13. AgentOrange2015

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Lake Ouachita, AR
    Don't upgrade to the GO app or you will be limited to 500 Meter in direction, so if you love long flights, don't upgrade. I would give anything to be able to download the old Pilot App and get rid of the Go App for my P3P.
     
  14. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    ? I get over a mile consistently.
     
  15. AgentOrange2015

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Lake Ouachita, AR
    I reinstalled 1.26 on my P3P thinking that the GO App would change the flight limit, but it remained the same, 500 meter in height or distance. This I hate. Not all updates are beneficial. The only thing I have now that will fly a mile or more is my original P2, H3-3D with FPV. I will be hanged if I will upgrade any of it's firmware. No way Jose.
     
  16. AgentOrange2015

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Lake Ouachita, AR
    What app are you using to fly with?
     
  17. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    I had 1.2.6 never had an issue, Im going to try to roll back to 1.1.9 now.. Ill assume you just have to put the FW back into the bird? And it will roll back? Knowone seems to know.. Ill try it now and report back here.
     
  18. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    Old App "Pilot"
     
  19. AgentOrange2015

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2015
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Lake Ouachita, AR
    My case exactly, the new DJI Go app severly limits height and distance, the Pilot does not.
     
  20. Harleymhs

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2015
    Messages:
    167
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Great Neck NY
    So its the APP that limits not the FW?