To regulate or not to regulate, that is the question

Reaction score
Most if not all of us are aware that aviation transportation authorities are attempting to regulate the use of hobby drones (yes drones). Unfortunately, because you can purchase these sophisticated RC aircraft without the need to spend countless hours building them, more and more inexperienced and more importantly, irresponsible operators are creating havoc. The public is interested in these stories, thus the media is covering it, casting a grim view of our hobby.

I'm one of the inexperienced operators, but I'd like to call my self responsible. I'm also a private pilot for single engine aircraft and have been licensed since the early 90's. I hate to admit it, but I understand and agree with the need for regulation. The hate replies and private messages will start flowing now I'm sure. To note, I am NOT a representative of any governing body, I'm just a dude who enjoys aviation of all kind.

Aviation authorities, whether it be Transport Canada, FAA or similar bodies, are responsible for ensuring the safety of people and property while in the air, and of those who are on the ground who are at risk from things falling from the air. Irresponsible operators of drones who are flying in the vicinity of airports, flying higher than 400' or buzzing over crowded areas are eventually going to cause an accident.