Tired of broken Cam ribbons on PV2+ Need help

Reaction score
I have replaced the ribbon on my Camera once and now after three fights it broke again after a flip on landing. I understand after the first crash because I hit a powerline and it came down hard, but this time it is crazy to break on just flipping over. I have two vision 2 plus quads and both have broke cams, but both fly very well without the cameras working. What I would like to know is can you replace the cam with a gopro camera or something else and everything still work. This is one of the cheapest build setups I have ever seen.

Last edited:
I have a gimbal protector installed. Not the one you suggested. It does look like a better one than what I had.

bcstexas said:
What I would like to know is can you replace the cam with a gopro camera or something else and everything still work. This is one of the cheapest build setups I have ever seen.

Here's one link to the Gopro and H3-D3 upgrade from the V+ camera to continue to provide telemetry and FPV data stream. viewtopic.php?f=27&t=32631&p=300121&hilit=gopro+conversion#p298828

I believe there are other solutions, but the above link will give you a start..

sounds like you could do with more stick time along with the add ons mentioned above. it is high time that someone produced a UC that gave a BIG footprint but also kept out of camera shot. would be great for those whose stick dexterity is a little lacking. the only time I ever tipped on landing, and with no damage I might add,( I have prop guards fitted ) was after I installed the OEM high and wide UC. sure it is great left to right, but the extra height gives a greater moment arm to the front back and the thing is the same length in that direction so it actually makes the quad LESS stable fore and aft!!!

For sure you need a good quality gimbal protector. Which one did you have on? I have the one from Killer RC.