Time lapse 1st attempt

Reaction score
my 1st attempt and both a time lapse and a sunset unfortunately battwries were too low to finish.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

Hey there ! Really nice spot you have there, the reflected sky on the ground/water is awesome !

I've been thinking alot about drone timelapses in the past few weeks, but in the end I'm not sure drones are fitted for that.

In my opinion your video is great and I don't think you are doing anything wrong - the thing is in the actual state of technology, batteries just can't stand long enought to do proper timelapse on a drone.
I've been doing timelapses with DSLRs for a few years now, and I recently got a P4P, but i'm really not feeling like doing timelapses with it for the moment.

In order to get a good "timelapse" effect, most of the time you need to stay as long as you can, and take only a few photos every minutes.
This is mostly true for long ranged horizon with clouds - from our perspective, they often move really slowly, and you need to stay a while to get things moving fast on the final video.

Of course there is cases where the wind is strong and clouds move faster, so you can reduce the shooting period and take more shots every minutes.
But those situation might not be the easiest to deal with while using a drone...

Also the "timelapse" effect is often stronger with perfect stable camera, or really smooth linear movements - and I think our birds aren't quite stable enought. On DJI drones, the camera stabilisation is astonishing for filming videos, but the drone still always ends up having small movements, especially over long periods of time (several minutes), and those are really visible in the final video.