Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Three buzzes after ribbon replacement

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by haygun, Oct 10, 2015.

  1. haygun

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I replaced the ribbon in my Phantom Vision 2+. All went fine until I fired the ol' girl up. It is now giving me three short buzzes. I have posted a video HERE. If anyone has any idea how to fix this or what I can do to fix this, it would be much appreciated!!!
     
  2. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Hello @haygun. It is a pleasure to welcome you to the Phantom Pilots forum. I hope that you will take advantage of the benefits that come with membership and that you will be able to use the forum for the exchange of innovative ideas and as a resource for current developments in Phantom quadcopter’s.
    Hopefully someone here can help you with your issue. ;)
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,416
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    What does the DJI vision app say??
     
  4. Desert Dave P

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2015
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is exactly what mind did. I had 2 issues. the first that caused this trashing around was a bad ribbon cable. it was brand new but just never worked. I purchased a pair of amazon to replace it and you could feel they were thicker and that stopped the beeping. the thrashing was due to a bad controller board (the thing that tell the camera its level) have you checked the position of the spindle and that is has not popped out ?
    Dave
     
    tomstr likes this.
  5. tomstr

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have the same problem 3 beeps..did you get it solved?
     
  6. wing nut

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    ...and I have exactly the same problem too so I'm dead curious to know how you get on!
     
  7. tomstr

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    I bought a drone used The guy took The camera and gimbal completely apart It needed a new ribbon so I installed it First time around The ribbon tabs or messed up had to send in for a new ribbonI installed the new ribbon Putting all the connections back Then I realized the guy that owned it before me didn't install the ribbon at the very top of the gimbal So I installed it Turned it on same beeps..Then I noticed the gray wire Coming from the Phantom to the gimbal That has 4 wires or 5 wiresThe pins are not all the way seatedSo now I'm going to replace the grey wires going from the gimbal to the Phantom that seems to be the problem I hope
     
  8. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    three beeps means something with the actual camera (where the lens) module is wrong or the cable is not seated properly.
     
  9. tomstr

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    Well i have the ribbon seated properly i hope..its missing the lock down latch.i used kapton tape to keep it on the camera board..i. noticed that when installing the camera cover it gets hot after a few min? I need a pic very close up to see it mabe its installed right...this has been a pain in the ***.because i cant seem to find the issue..also im loosing my wifi after binding.....
     
  10. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    Without the plastics lockdown latch it won't work. That's your problem right there.
     
  11. tomstr

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    Only problem is were to get a holddown latch? It top of the gimble were the main connection the long latch is missing also..how whould apply pressure enough to make contact?
     
  12. hunch

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,500
    Likes Received:
    225
    you can't. you have to have the plastic tab because it presses down the copper connectors inside when locked down.
    without it, it won't work.
     
  13. tomstr

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    2
    Ok i used the old landing gear black foam pads on both the camera and upper board on the gimbal..no beeping..yaa..now now the camera turns to the right i think the upper board needs adjusting..now i cant connect to the app because it will bind but right after that it says connecting on the wifi on the phone then dropps out just gos away..?