Threatening Email about FAA regulation

Reaction score
So I am a hobbyist. I made few videos of flying drones on my own.

I thought it would be cool to share the hobby and just charge the minimum.

So I put an ad on craigslist. I offered to do it like around $100. (including driving back and forth, operating drone there, risking my drone plus some editing) it costs like $100 per day to just to rent so I am basically donating my labor because I don't care about making money doing this.

Havent really heard from anyone for couple month. someone asked 'do you have 333 exemption' and I replied by saying 'no'

he said he took IP address down and will forward it to FAA.

I asked him 'for what? is it illegal to fly drone for fun?'

he replied by saying some guy thought it was funny but he got fined for $10,000 and he will call FAA everyday till they investigate it. he captured my craigslist ad with my phone number on it.
That's all he has. The online ad.

He must be one miserable [expletive removed] from drone company who's afraid of losing clients from hobbyist
(is it illegal for mechanics offering their work on craigslist? I think so. but who cares?)

anyways, have you guys dealt with these kind of incidents before?

Last edited by a moderator:
I'm from the UK myself so I'm not 100% on the american laws governing these drones, but in the UK you need a license and insurance to fly for 'monetary consideration' it seems that your 333 exemption is the same as our licence. So you asking for money to fly your UAV would be breaking the law. However (but don't quote me on this) I see no problem with charging to drive out to a client and charge for your editing time but fly for free. I've heard of people doing that before (not sure how things turned out) But if you want a way to avoid getting your 333 that seems like the only way...