Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

This should do it

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by FASTFJR, Jan 14, 2014.

  1. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Phantom 2 with gimbal and Storm Deluxe FPV. Extra battery, props and other assorted stuff. All I need is a good case. Helipal only seems to sell one size of case for the Phantom. I don't want to remove the props
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Unless you plan on crashing A LOT you won't need the extra landing gear. Unless you are making repairs over a sewer grate, you won't need all those screws. It comes with extra screws. The motor caps are only if you are going to be using aftermarket props and I think the phantom 2/vision props are pretty good so you won't need those caps. You can't use that prop balancer with the vision props unless you drill through them and unless you have precise tools, I wouldn't try it, drill a hair off from center and the will never read right.

    Otherwise you can keep the battery and the P2 combo.
     
  3. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Thanks
    I'll skip the balancer, I still like the idea of have extra parts etc….they are cheap enough. It never fails when I missing a little screw or nut, this way I'm covered.
     
  4. jigsaw57

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2013
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Taking the props of is a breeze. You can do that without any tools sometimes. And putting them on is a tool less endeavor also. Those extra props looked to be a little expensive. They are much cheaper on ebay. I picked up 8 props 4 of each for about 35 bucks.
     
  5. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Thanks for the info
     
  6. djiatl

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    1
  7. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
  8. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yeah, lose the motor caps unless you're buying non-DJI props along with this order. Otherwise they'll be spare parts that you CAN'T use. If you're finally buying aftermarket props, then just order the motor caps together.

    Rather than investing on spare landing gears, go get a simulator or a small quad for practice. Landing (or catching) a Phantom is pretty basic and it's a low impact thing (unless you mess up big time). IF something happens that causes the landing gear to be botched, then I'm afraid you'll be looking at gimbal\gopro damage too.

    Btw, do you know that you can buy motor spares and a body shell spare too?
     
  9. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    Not sure about all those spares - i wouldn't bother - specially the landing gear - if you do break it, you can superglue it :)
    but i feel if you have a landing hard enough to actually break the landing gear, you'll be replacing a lot more than just the gear

    I got a spare set of props with my p2 in the box - is that normal?

    so i'd say bin all those spare and just buy 2 spare batteries - thats my personal opinion

    you get LOADS of spare screws with the p2 anyway, and extra flying time is what its all about really
     
  10. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Guys........were talking 5 bucks for a bag of spare stuff. I don't need a simulator, I have been flying planes, helicopters, and the Phantom 1 for a while now. Thanks for the insight, yes Helipal sells shells
     
  11. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    didnt realise you were a seasoned flyer - just thought that maybe you had ticked all of the spares as you were worried about it falling apart :)

    soz :)
     
  12. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA

    No problem, I'm always the guy if something gets loose or falls off I don't have the proper screw or nut :lol:
     
  13. Ravecreative

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2013
    Messages:
    316
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Medway, Kent, UK
    Mate, after years of 1/10 racing, I know EXACTLY what you mean
     
  14. LeoS

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2013
    Messages:
    747
    Likes Received:
    1
    Take it from a hoarder... it's not about the price ;)
     
  15. SARC

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    56
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    On the question of the case, I bought this one and am quite pleased with it

    http://www.goprocases.com/xb-dji-vision.aspx

    It "technically" conforms to most US airlines cabin baggage policies, but I have yet to test that, but will soon.

    I have modified it quite a bit by cutting the foam padding so I could add more things.

    I have in the case :

    1) P2 with props on. Zenmuse and GoPro
    2) 3 batteries, 2 chargers
    3) 12V to 110V invertor for running the battery chargers in the car
    4) quite decent tool kit
    5) spare props
    6) All of the wires for everything
    7) FPV monitor with charger (I have to remove the monitor from the top of the controller for storage but it's only 1 bolt. The mount remains on top of the controller)
    8) DJI controller with FPV mount still on it
     
  16. lgeist

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    USA
    Interesting. I tried to order that exact same case a few weeks ago from GoProCases.com for my P2 and they said it wasn't the right size. They suggested that I wait until the end of January when they would have a new one available specifically for the P2. Their loss, because not wanting to wait that long I ordered the TradeCraft case.
     
  17. jimmychuck

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: GoProfessional case for P2

    Any chance you could post some photos of your setup and cutouts? I like the idea of the GoProfessional cases cause they're a little smaller for carrying on a plane, but I'm concerned about the amount of stuff I could potentially carry inside it. It would seem you've got that taken care of and I'm curious to see the final result.

    Thanks.

     
  18. FASTFJR

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2013
    Messages:
    1,201
    Likes Received:
    169
    Location:
    South East PA
    Yup, you can never be too rich, too good looking or have too many spare parts. I used to have a 1974 Triumph TR6, I had enough spare parts to build another one............and I needed them all :lol: