Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Think my new + is faulty :(

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by RobFallen, May 7, 2014.

  1. RobFallen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys have a look at this little video - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w3BpAlxJv4s

    I think my gimbal is faulty :( yesterday I took it out for two minutes and it seemed fine as you can see in this video I made testing the phantom in 15mph winds - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D-bBJhE0J9s

    I turned it on today as I was going to check the software version etc but didn't get the far as the gimbal was making really weird noises and the camera seemed to erratically jump about sometimes, I also got the error on my iPhone you can see in the pic bellow

    What do you guys think? is this normal behaviour for the +?????

    [​IMG]

    Thanks

    Rob
     
  2. FrankPA

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2014
    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you remove the gimbel lock?
     
  3. Signal4

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    I actually had this appear on mine as well. I did two things. 1st, I rebooted the eniter system (Phantom, TX and APP), The second thing I did was to move it away from the thicker grass I was in. Once I did those things it started right up and no more problems. I can tell you i have forgotten the gimble lock a few times I have worried that I might have damaged the motors somehow :(. But knock on wood it appears for the last few flights that all is fine.
     
  4. Mori55

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2014
    Messages:
    1,993
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    NJ-USA
    Had it happen to Me. Was grass touching it.
     
  5. RobFallen

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah lock was removed, just back from having it checked by the store and it seems ok now *phew*
     
  6. rostov007

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    North Bend, WA
    This for me as well. I felt a little silly so I started carrying a thick piece of cardboard in the trunk for a Helipad and that solved all my issues no matter the terrain. Someone posted this yesterday http://www.uavstickers.com/helipad.php so I may end up getting it just for the novelty but the cardboard works fine.
     
  7. Cocoa Beach Kiter

    Joined:
    May 3, 2014
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same here... just a blade of grass touching the camera can do that.

    I use my case as a launch pad if needed.
     
  8. AmosMoses

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2014
    Messages:
    597
    Likes Received:
    161
    Location:
    Illinois
    You need to be careful using cardboard or any light material as a landing pad. Make sure it's heavy enough so it doesn't fly up from the prop wash and hit the quad!

    Sent from my SM-P900 using Tapatalk
     
  9. Didjelirium

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2014
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tahiti
    +1 for the case as take off station... And landing as well, just as a personal challenge and to show off how stable that bird is. :)