Thermal Infrared camera on a Vision

Reaction score
Just wondering if it is possible to supply a thermal camera with USB 5V power from the Vision?

I am a geothermal scientist and have purchased a V2+ for research. I am planning to remove the stock camera/gimbal (temporarily) and fitting a Flir thermal camera. The Flir camera requires an accessory for data capture that uses mini USB for power (5V 200mA):

http://www.teax-tec.de/fileadmin/datash ... ure_en.pdf

I know the bare Phantom 2 would have probably been the better choice for tinkering, but the V2+ was too great to resist!

Interesting Wharf (or would you rather be called Banger?), Wasn't there a Wharf in the Star Trek series?
I am somewhat impressed with the mass (45gm) of the FLIR sensor. I suspect that 5v is certainly available, but how to get it without compromising the flight electronics circuits is beyond me. Now if DJI could publish the entire design documentation package (including schematic) that would be very helpful for you, but I doubt they will want to do that. Perhaps since it is a business venture on your part, you could purchase that documentation.

I agree that the other system would have probably been a better investment for your purpose (the camera and gimbal appear to be half the cost of the entire P2V+), but you could have a dual-function aerial platform once you modify it for IR. I have been thinking about flying my modified Near-IR camera (an Olympus E-P2 with sensor mods), but it probably weighs too much for the P2V+ to lift and control (I'll have to weigh it and see).

At any rate, good luck with your research,
Tom

I would like to do similar activities with a flit camera. Where did you get your setup? How much is the cost for the complete camera and module combo?

1uas.com has a thermal setup but i don't see any video or pictures that have been shot with it.

thanks

Russair said: