The Phantom 3 Advanced Real World Imaging Review

Reaction score
Hi All,

Long time lurker - first time poster.

I have been flying an F450 for a couple of years and recently got a P3 Advanced.

I went to a lot of effort to put together a real world imaging review - after about 5 drafts i finally came up with
something i am half happy with.
Many of you will already know this stuff - but I had some fun creating some different shots to put into the review.

To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

If you are thinking about buying a DJI Phantom but you cant decide if its right for you, or whether you need the 4K Or 1080p version

This practical and detailed review gets stuck into the nitty gritty details and features from a real video production professional.

How long does it fly?
Do i need a spare battery?
How much wind can it handle?
What is the controller like to use?
Are the photos any good? Does it shoot raw?
How grade-able are the photos?

Why would i need 4k if nobody can broadcast it?
Is the 1080p any good ? Does the image have any issues?

Is it good value for money?

All these questions and more will be answered in a high production value review.

First and foremost I think your video and mini review is really good, however you appear to have dismissed the Pro model on the basis that nobody can broadcast 4K video. You don't mention that when 4K video is output in 1080p it is superior to a standard 1080p original video, due to the chroma sub-sampling. I would appreciate your view on the explanation in the following video.
To view this content we will need your consent to set third party cookies.
For more detailed information, see our cookies page.

thanks for your comments and question

i have been shooting 4k on a gh4 for over a year now. (almost on a daily basis)