Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

The most satellites in GPS mode

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by gfredrone, Feb 21, 2014.

  1. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    191
    I've had 11 as my max. Has anyone had more?
     
  2. AllanVB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    17- out here in the country - central Oregon. I think its the clean air. :)
     
  3. gfredrone

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    1,221
    Likes Received:
    191
    AVB must have been HIGH! :lol:

    I've noticed I get more with altitude.
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    At ground level or at altitude?
     
  5. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    The extra satellites will be part of the Glonass system (Russian).
     
  6. AllanVB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    Well, my eyesight is not the best, but I use glasses when I fly. Maybe, coulda been 12....

    http://spaceweather.com/flybys/
     
  7. AllanVB

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2014
    Messages:
    394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Oregon, USA
    MMC for Oregon
     
  8. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    15 (when I was ~4000 feet up)
     
  9. F6Rider

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2014
    Messages:
    1,126
    Likes Received:
    346
    Location:
    Foothills Of The Sierra's, California
    Here in Northern California I average 9 or 10 on the ground and 10-12 @ +200'. The Russian GPS system is not available to receivers here in the US. Normally the max number of satellites above the horizon at any given time is 12. Some are so low as to be blocked by mountains, hills or buildings. The Phantom will maintain lock with at least 6, less than 6 six for 20 seconds and it will auto land. Your GPS mapping device only needs 2 or 3 to be accurate as it also used dead reckoning referenced to turns you make so it can correct on the fly.
     
  10. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Really? I've never had that happen, but I understood the result would be that the NAZA switched itself to regular Atti mode.
     
  11. pault

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    567
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Liverpool UK
    Cannot understand why your P2V can not receive Glonass, surely DJI do not make different Phantom models for the US.