Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Thank you!

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by twodips, Apr 24, 2014.

  1. twodips

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    I would like to thank you for all the help so far and going forward! Just finished my 8th flight, 2nd with a camera on board and in breezy conditions to boot yet it all went very well!
    The posts on Gain adjustments, how to take off without tipping over etc. have been priceless to me, or at least the price of repairing a messed up P2. :lol:
    Now y'all have got me awaiting the arrival of a Black Pearl,Controller mount from that guy in the UK,OSD Mini, CAN HUB (real hard to find) and plug/play cords from Firstpersonview. Dang, this addiction anyway... :eek:
    I guess I'll have to start robbing the kids piggy bank, checking the cushions and pawning the lawnmower soon to get a pair of Fatsharks and a case along with 3-4 spare batteries (actually probably need to rob a 7-11 to buy the batteries :shock: ). :twisted:

    Anyway, thanks all :!:
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Are you sure you need the CanHub? What are all the components you're using that need a canbus port?
     
  3. mcmax20

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    169
    Likes Received:
    0
    Must have meant FPV Hub
     
  4. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    FPV Hub probably wouldn't be of much use with an Immersion Tx and the cable he mentioned for it. I was just asking because I've seen a fair amount of people get the canhub for the Phantom when it's not really necessary.
     
  5. Cr8tive_leo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Fpv Hub is great for any Video TX. :)
     
  6. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Noted. I thought the included connectors were all just for DJI gear, and wouldn't work with the cabling he mentioned (the one that connects to the port on the mainboard).
     
  7. Cr8tive_leo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    No worries... I read manuals... photographic memory... like to rub it in I read manuals... I'm a geek... I'm bored... what's for dinner?

    :mrgreen:


    My latest 8fgs hack...

    [​IMG]
     
  8. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    ^^needs mor pix :lol:

    I read the manual on the FPV hub too, I guess I wasn't clear in what I meant. The cable he said he was using won't connect directly to it, and generally sidesteps the need for it in the first place...so it really wouldn't be of use to him (and therefore fueled my suspicion that he was referring to the canhub in the first place).

    Tomato, po-TAH-to :cool:
     
  9. Cr8tive_leo

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2014
    Messages:
    255
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
  10. twodips

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2014
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm given to understand that one needs to increase the ports from the existing 1 to hook all this fine gear to the P2. The CAN Hub increases ports to 4. Yes, I've got the immersion TX.
    The cables as I understand it removes the need for any soldering and makes it plug/play.
    On Edit:
    Thanks for questioning me... WHOOPSIE, guess in all my excitement I might have over ordered a couple of things. :oops: After further reading and desecting the FPV discussion I was following I now realize that I shouldn't have got the hub and one of the wiring harnesses.
    Thankfully the hub came from BHP so return is easy and the wiring... Don't quite know what I'll do with that yet. May keep it for further projects.
    This is why I'd LOVE to see a FPV guide as a sticky.
     
  11. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    You will only need the CAN hub if you intend to add anything more beyond what you can daisy-chain together. If you're just adding the iOSD to a P2 then you don't need the CAN hub. Even if you then add a BTU you can daisy-chain this from the iOSD Mini.
     
  12. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    +1 And ditto for the DataLink