Tesla and the Moon

Reaction score
Elon Musk, Mr Tesla is planning to take some people to the Moon next year. Let's say there was a drawing. And I won to be on that flight. And let's say I wanted to take my P3P with me. What modifications would I have to make so I could fly it up there? Or would it have to be redesigned all together? I think a new propellation system because of lack of air?

DJI should maybe get involved in it. I bet you could get some awesome shots up there?

with the lack of gravity the drone might fly just fine, I'm to lazy to run the numbers but I'm sure someone will.

I would love to see some moon reveals

if the moon has 1/6 the atmosphere and 1/6 the gravity.... well it might work... don't make me run the numbers

The answer to that question is why I'm a cryogenics plant operator and not an engineer like I wanted to be.

AKA math. I know lots of it but not to the level I'd need to calculate the thrust required to get a P3 off the ground on the moon. My plant manager (a petroleum engineer) could probably answer it for you in under 10 minutes with a pen and scratch paper hahaha.

if the moon has 1/6 the atmosphere and 1/6 the gravity.... well it might work... don't make me run the numbers

The moon has no atmosphere at all - its gravitational field is too weak to prevent any of the light gas molecules from escaping.

Reactions: DoomMeister
If this is true:

The this is true:

I think.

I didn't even bother commenting on that. Obviously a propulsive system that depends on displacing a working fluid, in this case the surrounding air, produces no thrust at all in a vacuum.

Reactions: DoomMeister
I didn't even bother commenting on that. Obviously a propulsive system that depends on displacing a working fluid, in this case the surrounding air, produces no thrust at all in a vacuum.

I'm just trying to convince myself, based on memories of high school science... that's why I ended it with "I think".