Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Telemetry

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Funnone, Feb 12, 2014.

  1. Funnone

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo,Oho
    Is there a way to keep the telemetry embedded into the video why recording?
     
  2. tizzl10

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    1
    unfortunately no..not within any settings within the dji application, however if you are using a jailbroken iphone, you can use screen recorder apps to do it.
     
  3. Funnone

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2014
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Toledo,Oho
    Thanks for the info.... Rocking the ip5s, no jailbreak for me :D i Guess i can do a screen shot
     
  4. GMANNZ

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Wellington, New Zealand
    Yeah feel the same ... unfortunately no stock apps yet to do this ??
     
  5. tizzl10

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    1
    nope..apple says no..thats one of the reasons i jailbreak. lol

     
  6. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    I had the same thought and wound up going with a FlyTrex core and DashWare. Works like a charm...

    -slinger
     
  7. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
  8. kwatts

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bit on the technical side but it's possible to modify the DJI app to embed this, for example, I've been able to modify the DJI app for Android to periodically (every 1sec) dump all the current craft_info data (lat/long/heading/etc) to a file and able to feed that into google maps to see the flight log points afterwards. For embedding it to the image, you'd likely have to take the timing points and overlay it with the video (there are apps to do this) - you could insert it w/ the image that's presented by the dji app (technical jargon wise it's the "glsurface") but that wouldn't carry over to the recorded video, it's written outside of the app directly onto the copter's sdcard.

    Basically, if any of you are super technical and know how to write Android apps, contact me and I'll give you more details on what I've found/done. I would release it but it's a modification of the DJI app and untested code, don't want to burden their (quite good) support team with this crap.
     
  9. tizzl10

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    1
  10. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
  11. tizzl10

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2014
    Messages:
    882
    Likes Received:
    1
    lol just a test to see if it would actually work. I will try to get some actual flight time with the recorder on soon. :cool:


     
  12. FPV col

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm looking into getting the Dashware... How do you sink the dashware overlay on the video at the correct start point ?
     
  13. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    I've watched a couple of youtube tutorials and basically it involves finding a point in the video where you can match up the telemetry (something like a turn, yaw, or other obvious movement). The software then automatically shifts the data overlay to sync with the rest of the video using that point as a reference. Then you check and tweak.
     
  14. FPV col

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2014
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cool thanks Pull_up ;) I'm now off to find them tutorials... Found plenty of example footage, I'll have another search cheers..
     
  15. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    This one's Flytrex specific:
    [youtube]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=OoicZxUb10U[/youtube]
     
  16. kwatts

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2014
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    @brizey and whoever is interested in the modified dji app/code to pull the telemetry data off e-mail me at kwatkins@gmail.com and I'll send it your way. (wish it was logging to sqlite, good guess tho - the wifi repeater is openwrt and bridges to the vision, communicates across that. I'm using the native libs from the official app, have access and able to ssh/telnet/bring up the wifi repeater and will eventually just pull the stats through that.)

    I've got it logging to the sdcard to a json file every second, basically, what this flytrex software is getting w/out having to install that hardware stuff. Right now I'm working on grabbing the data and being able to run the dji app at the same time, I have an app that does collect the data as well but it'll block the official dji app from running.

    {"roll_ang":178,"speed":0.1,"last_lat":37.787235200000005,"error_code":0,"unknown":20,"current_long":0,"control_state_1":1,"
    last_long":-122.4682945,"direction_ang":126,"control_state_2":0,"current_time_ms":1392107977304,
    "height":0.9403038024902344,"level":3,"distance_away":5,"slider_bar_pitch":0,"location_status":0,
    "pitch":178,"current_lat":0}

    I'm then converting that to kml w/ the placemark's and importing it into google maps.
     
  17. nhoover

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    851
    Likes Received:
    182
    Location:
    Los Gatos, California
    Flytrex is 4x per second.
     
  18. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    I drag n' drop the Altitude Bar onto the bottom of the video which shows a moving dot on a graph of your ascent/altitude/descent. Align the video & dot on the graph to where you're a few feet off the ground and hit the Sync button. That's it, you're in sync.

    iDrone :idea:
     
  19. gunslinger

    gunslinger Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2013
    Messages:
    2,722
    Likes Received:
    497
    Location:
    Least Coast...
    +1 ^ What he said... :D
     
  20. Luap

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    70
    That sounds great. I'm overlaying the telemetry data captured from the phone
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5YrHfTuaHe0
    But your solution with Dashware should work right? I've sent you an email.