Technician class amateur radio license

Buk

Reaction score
Is this required due to the transmitters, Phantom or Fat Shark, that are common with our flying hobby?

Thanks,

Buk, it's not quite that simple with amateur radio and licensing. The technician license is a starting point. There is quite a bit of variables involved with operation. Such as, frequency, what band type of emission, and mode of operation. All band have restrictions on mode of operation, frequency, power, and even license type. All bands are segmented for type of use and who may use them. If you or someone would provide specific info on this devise, I could possibly help answer this question. I have no knowledge regarding this device...

k8xd said:
If you or someone would provide specific info on this devise, I could possibly help answer this question. I have no knowledge regarding this device...

I may be speaking out of school here, since I'm an RC newbie, but it seems the Phantom's transmitter operates on the 2.400-2.4250 Ghz ISM band. No idea about the power output spec, but I'm sure it's low.

I spent some time searching for FCC rules for that band and gave up - couldn't find anything without going to the FCC website, and didn't have the stomach for that. But I seriously doubt anybody cares much about RC transmitters in this band.

The ham license would not be required for the Phantom, but for signal transmission from an a/v transmitter that you would put on board the phantom.

I just bought a 5.8 GHz a/v transmitter and the licensing requirement was stated clearly.

Someone else that knows more might be able to provide more info, but I believe any time you want to operate a transmitter that is not part of an approved consumer product, then there is a licensing requirement.

Ots said: