Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Taking photo's GoPro 4

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Discussion' started by mikouk, Jan 17, 2015.

  1. mikouk

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    HI Guys

    I wondered if someone could help. I'm trying to take photos while in the air but can't seem to monitor the GoPro while in the air like i can when filming video. I have it set to take photos every 3 secs. Is it simply a settings thing? I can't just guess what the GoPro is seeing and hope for the best.

    I have a P2 with H3-3D Gimbal and GoPro 4

    Any advice would be great

    Thanks
    Mark
     
  2. madsonp

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2014
    Messages:
    145
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Montana U.S.A.
    Yep, you can't see what the camera is seeing while taking photos, probably what your best bet would be is to shoot video and pause where there's a scene you like then copy it and save it as a picture. I've never tried this myself but you'd think there'd be a way to do it.
     
  3. PhantomFanatic

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2014
    Messages:
    1,143
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    USA, GA
    It sounds like you want to see what your Hero 4 is seeing. Right? If so, you will need a FPV set-up.

    Edit: I don't think I read closely enough as you said you could monitor what it is filming, so you must have a FPV set up.

    If it is taking photos every X seconds and you see a nicely framed shot that you would like a photo of, I just keep that framed for long enough for a photo to be shot. I stay longer, to get several if I really like it, then from different angles and distance.

    At least some mystery is left!
     
  4. mikouk

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys but the problem is I don't get any FPV signal when in photo mode so I don't know whether its a well framed shot.

    Madsonp - Yes that's the only way at the moment to get photo's but they're only HD video res, not full still pic res.

    It seems odd that when in video mode you see picture but not in photo mode. I'll look into it a bit more. Like i say, maybe it's a setting thing.

    Any other ideas are welcome. Cheers
     
  5. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Have you tried simultaneous video and stills mode? This records video and takes interval stills at nominated intervalls.

    On the go pro 3+,
    Set 1080p at 30fps. Turn off protune. Go further into the settings and look for the vid ands pics icon.

    Photo stills are much better than screen captures.
    Wide is 12mpx
    Meduim is 7mpx
    Narrow is 5mpx
     
  6. Zinnware

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2014
    Messages:
    174
    Likes Received:
    8
    +1
     
  7. mikouk

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys, that's great. That mode will have to do. I wonder what the res settings are for Gopro 4? I'll have a google.

    I wonder if it can do 4k + photo's. I don't see why not.

    Cheers
    Mark
     
  8. Spudboy

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2014
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hero 4 Black cannot do 4K plus stills. Best is 1440.

     
  9. wkf94025

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2014
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    St. Helena, CA
    Try setting your photo interval to 5sec rather than 3sec. On my H3+ setup, at 2sec I get no FPV, but at 5sec and beyond I do. No need to settle for frame grabs.

    Kelly
     
  10. mikouk

    Joined:
    May 13, 2014
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh ok, Thanks for that. Sounds perfect