Takeoff Platform, Especially for Rotorpixel/Gimbal users

Reaction score
Because everyone likes pictures!

Phantom.jpg

Explanation: This is a Manfrotto (old geezers in the USA remember Bogen! LOL!) 183 Aluminum Projector Platform.

I put a quick release plate on it and mounted it to my tripod head. This allows me to create a LEVEL takeoff platform ANYWHERE, even on the side of a mountain!

MORE importantly for me, since I have a Rotorpixel gimbal, there is a depression in the middle (where the adjuster knob rides) that allows the camera/gimbal mechanism to sit unobstructed. In the photo it looks like the gray knob hits the camera, but it does not.

Even if you don't have a gimbal, this is a great way to launch your Phantom. This works great to help keep your Phantom out of the grass and mud. Also, you no longer have to take off in the dirt and worry about sucking up dust into the camera.

As for landing, it's a little too small for a landing pad IMHO, especially with that previously mentioned hole in the middle. So I hand catch instead.

The platform is about $50 (US) from B&H. Or you may even have one in your closet like I did, because after all, who uses slide projectors anymore? ;- )

Clever idea. But I just use two small rectangles of left-over case foam, and set the Phantom on them for takeoff with the camera moving freely in between them. They blow away on takeoff, but I always hand-catch anyway.

FSJ Guy said:
Because everyone likes pictures!

Phantom.jpg

Explanation: This is a Manfrotto (old geezers in the USA remember Bogen! LOL!) 183 Aluminum Projector Platform.

I put a quick release plate on it and mounted it to my tripod head. This allows me to create a LEVEL takeoff platform ANYWHERE, even on the side of a mountain!