Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Switching cameras & Bimding

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Help' started by JDNC, Mar 12, 2015.

  1. JDNC

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    7
    If I just switch cameras do I have Bind? I thought I read that you don't and that binding was only to the wifi module. Is this correct?

    The reason I'm asking is I bought a damaged DJI gimbal/camera off ebay to be repaired for a spare and it doesn't have a S/N sticker. If I need a MAC address for the gimbal I might have been screwed! :oops:
     
  2. J Dot

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2014
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    895
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL. USA!
    You bind your extender to camera, each camera has a unique
    QR CODE, if you change your camera, you need a new QR CODE
    For the new camera, I believe if you open camera, there is a sticker
    Inside with serial number on it, contact DJI with your serial number,
    They have a complete list of QR CODES, for each camera sold, you can get
    It from them. Hope this helps!

    I'm assuming you have a P2v or P2v+?

    Take care, Fly safe!
    J Dot
     
  3. RichWest

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2014
    Messages:
    405
    Likes Received:
    43
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    Re: Switching cameras & BiNding

    Yes, it's only the wifi module you need a MAC address to which is the same as stated on the sticker on the bottom of the bird - if all original. The Camera/Gimbal are hardwired to the wifi module...no MAC for that.
     
  4. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,410
    Likes Received:
    567
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    No need to bind. Just plug the camera in.
     
  5. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Just to be clear for posterity:
    - On a P2V+, the wifi module is inside the Phantom, so no need to rebind when replacing camera.
    - On a P2V or FC40, the wifi module is part of the camera, so rebinding is needed.