Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Switched to Futaba T8 - Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by marcus_canada, Jul 23, 2013.

  1. marcus_canada

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    Switched over to a Futaba T8 and very happy, got my gimbal working great too with it :)

    Question though, I did the IMU calibration a couple of times but I still have a lazy drift going on in GPS mode. Is it appropriate to use the trim to correct drift now I have them?? Or should I be chasing down other problems causing drift?

    Dumb question, how do I calibrate the GPS? Whilst using the Nazza utility it's giving me a warning saying it needs to be calibrated.

    Wow, when I read that back I guess I got my own answer hahahaha. But outside the GPS is fully locked, no Red LEDs, so surely that means the GPS is working..... I never calibrated a GPS unit before, it just locks to satellites and boom......?
     
  2. John2905

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2013
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Hertfordshire UK
    Perhaps you need to do the compass calibration dance!
    John
     
  3. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    More than five flights ? and no screeching , and no burning ? Hmmm.....maybe you got a good one.
     
  4. marcus_canada

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    What does that mean? What screeches and burns? T8 or Gimbal or Phantom ?
     
  5. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    Drift is a weird one to figure out.. IMU calibration usually helps.
    you could also calibrate your Tx with the NAZA software. but if the sticks are all around 0 *(and under 100), then it shouldn't drift
    But there's a number of ways you can adjust the trim's to fix things.. either with the manual trims on the Tx, or by going into the sub-trim/trim settings in the Tx menu.
    but always check to see how things work when connected to the NAZA software.
     
  6. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    The gimbal.....Sorry, you hadn't heard about that ?
     
  7. marcus_canada

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    Heard what, that all gimbals end up dying ?
     
  8. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    Have you read the other threads on this forum regarding the Zenmuse gimbal ?
    Perhaps not "ALL", but certainly a lot of them are having issues.
     
  9. marcus_canada

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    Oh, so it's not ALL gimbals it's Zenmuse Gimbals, and not ALL of them either, just some. You can see my confusion with your first sweeping statement. :roll:
     
  10. Hawklin

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think it's time for a board just for Zenmuse jealous posters to hangout without hijacking threads.
     
  11. Audaciter

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2013
    Messages:
    724
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sunnyvale, California, USA
    Sorry for hijacking your post.
     
  12. marcus_canada

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2013
    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    4
    +1