Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Swapping controllers

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Wibble, Oct 2, 2015.

  1. Wibble

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    478
    Location:
    Brecon Beacons Wales UK
    I have just ordered a DBS mod. If my P3 develops a fault I know Maplin in the UK will just swap it out no problem. If I have modded the controller what happens? Can I just swap the bird itself? Or are they bound to the controller?
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Any P3 bird can be bound to any p3 controller
     
  3. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    Wibble,

    When Maplin changed my P3 they changed everything, they did not want me to have the old controller etc.

    I too have a DBS Mod but I have 2 controllers.

    I bought one off ebay from a P3P that went swimming in the Thames.

    That has my DBS Mod on it.

    As Bob said you can pair any P3 controller with any P3.

    Hope that helps.
     
  4. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    I bought my P3A like a month ago from one of the official UK dealers i have moded my RC with Itelite DBS. If my bird developed the infamous cracks on the motor arms then cant i send just the bird for replacement ?
     
  5. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Maybe-- call customer service at DJI and ask them? That's a good question.. The probably want you to send back everything in the original box.
     
  6. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks Bob
     
  7. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    Hope they do something for you.
     
  8. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    I mean i have not had any problem with my bird so far and i have reduced the airbreaks to 75 % and attitude and yaw to 88 % just in case. I am also thinking to run a coat of acrylic transparent paint or super glue on the edges of the arms. What do u think?
     
  9. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I wouldn't use super glue, Maybe some clear silicon? you may want to get in the shell later for repairs. Have you put the UAV Bits Strong Arm plates on as a preventative measure to give those motor mount bolts something solid to pull against? I already had Snap Prop guard mounting plates on mine, or it would have used the UAV Bits product.
    Strong Arm reinforcement plates - UAV BITS
     
  10. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    I considered it but then i read that they dont do anything even if u put them on u still can get the cracks. If u tell me they work Bob i will buy them. What do u think?
     
  11. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    I want something to keep the motor from separating from the shell in the event the cracks finally progress to a total failure and the motor comes loose. One recorded incident of that happening on this forum. With those plates in place, that cant happen. They may not prevent the cracks, but they assure no motor separation.
     
  12. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Makes sense. Thanks bob
     
    bobmyers likes this.
  13. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    Nikolas,

    I was on the same boat as you and then thought spent all that money on the P3 so it aint going to hurt if I buy another controller, luckily picked one up for £150 from ebay and did the DBS Mod on that, so now whichever controller comes with the P3 I can send it back with the P3 if required without any hassle.

    I have a P3P now and if this starts developing problems (I have taken breaking down to 70% and left attitude to default) I would take everything back to Maplins like I did with my P3A for an exchange.
     
    #13 D4T_PoM, Oct 3, 2015
    Last edited: Oct 3, 2015
  14. Mr.Spock

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2015
    Messages:
    369
    Likes Received:
    67
    Location:
    UK
    Thanks brother . Isnt it late for me now because i have moded the original RC? If i buy another RC from ebay like u did and i leave it intact can i send that one to DJI if needed with my bird or they will not accept it as the SN won't match the original? Also on the original i done the HDMI module upgrade too.
     
  15. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    I highly doubt they will be looking at the serial number of the RC.

    Also if you are too worried then just swap the back cover where the serial number is from your RC to the ebay RC lol
     
    Mr.Spock and bobmyers like this.
  16. lotusteve

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    sheffield uk
    Hi Del, where is the setting to lower the air brake and yaw.
     
  17. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    Steve, its in MC settings under gain and expo, scroll down and you will find the braking percentage.
     
  18. lotusteve

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    135
    Location:
    sheffield uk
    cheers mate, done the settings this morning and it has improved the flying of the phantom drastically. did I good flight over a Dam in Sheffield the first one over water. done a bit of editing with my surface pro but for some reason when I up load to you tube its knocked the quality right down. don't know why.
     
    D4T_PoM likes this.
  19. D4T_PoM

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2015
    Messages:
    693
    Likes Received:
    183
    Location:
    London UK
    That looks great...

    Keep it up
     
    lotusteve likes this.