Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Subpar Results with boosters and ITElite

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by steve21, Aug 20, 2016.

  1. steve21

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Amgen everyone, I live in the suburbs of so. Cal.

    I've experimented with the windsurfer, ITElite, and later added sunhans amps.

    I really haven't noticed an increase in performance from the windsurfer and the ITElite with boosters. Is there something I'm missing?

    I know I live in a wifi congested area, but I should notice a bump in performance, right?

    The antenna is also VERY directional.

    Input?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. scodrone

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2016
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    1
    What kind of distances are you able to hit in your suburbs?
     
  3. steve21

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    About 2,000ft


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Ohiowoodsman

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2016
    Messages:
    467
    Likes Received:
    138
    Location:
    USA
    Firmware or internal connections (the ones u made) are my best guess
     
  5. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    Something wrong with the connection, probably the internal wiring. Boosters is the biggest multiplier in mine. And in a wifi congested area, 5.8Ghz can go further than 2.4Ghz because it has less interference. Most home and office wifi use 2.4Ghz.
     
  6. steve21

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Going to tear it apart tomorrow. Anything in particular I should look for?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    Make sure the pigtail tip is connected properly. You probably cant see if its broken cable, so I would just replace them entirely. If you used the original one from dbs, they dont have the insulation. try find the u.FL to RP-SMA cable with insultation. I heard they did great fending off interference.

    If problem still persist, then it's probably the firmware.

    Are you in CE or FCC area?
     
  8. steve21

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    In a FCC area. Not sure if it's the firmware since, I wasn't getting good results with just the windsurfer and I have not updated the firmware. I just haven't seen an increase with the modifications.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. steve21

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    What pigtail clip?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    The u.fl connector to the 3 ports inside the tx.
     
  11. steve21

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Found the problem. SMH.

    Hand some of the connectors swapped. Fixed it and am know getting crazy distance. Hit 5800'

    Only limiting factor now is my LOS.

    Thank you guys.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Darius

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    5
    I got 3,000 ft with dbmods itelite and one 5.8 antenna missing :rolleyes:
     
  13. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    That's great. I got 9800 ft yesterday with dbs and 5.8 amp in rural. Need my 2.4ghz to stop losing telemetry and fpv.
     
  14. SingLag

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2016
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    56
    check cable and.connection, it should be at least 2km in city when using booster

    my P3S with 27dbs mode + Booster + DBS-01, reach 5KM (16000ft)
     
  15. losman26

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2016
    Messages:
    360
    Likes Received:
    84
    You just switched the cables around?


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. steve21

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2016
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yes. I had the cables mixed up.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app